Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-12-25 - 7:23 p.m.

Right, where do I begin?

It's funny how I often start an entry with that line after I haven't been writing in a while.:P But then again, I always just let it roll.

So, how was my first month at that foreign language school in Kuningan?

I survived.:P That's all I could say so far. I'd already decided to just learn the whole system first throughout this month. And I have.:) Thankfully, it wasn't as difficult as I had feared earlier - although it was still rather overwhelming, since I'm still new.

Good.:) I think I know what I'm going to do next.

I'm glad that I have survived working there, even without T around. (He's still in Australia, btw.) I have made friends and got to know some people there.:) I know that I'm pretty close with Vince and Paula so far, although I make sure that I get along with everybody else around as well (and yes, to avoid 'office-politics' as well.:P)

If some people dislike the others, then it's their problem. That's none of my business, and I don't want to be part of any of that. I'm not taking sides and I won't even start now.

I just want to do my job well. Call it playing safe, but I'd rather be sensible than sorry.

Last Thursday was pretty funny. Matthew, one of the teachers resigning from the school, was clearing his desk. He ended up playing 'throw and catch' with Vince.

The problem? I happened to be sitting right there in the middle, between the partition that separates the rows of cubicles and...Vince. (He sat behind me that day, while Matthew was behind the partition.:P) When things started flying above my head, I knew it was only a matter of time before...

"Oy, sweet man! Catch this!"

Ow.

"Matt, you hit her in the head," Vince warned him, but he was grinning at me. He's such a boy sometimes!xD "Twice."

Okay, he was exaggerating.*big evil grin* But I still heard Matthew apologize to me anyway:

"Sorry!"

"It's alright, Matt!" I called back from behind the partition. "You only hit me once."

By now, Jane and Paula - who were sitting next to Vince and me - giggled quietly.xD Paula even warned me not to stand up or I'd get hit in the head again.*giggles*

Friday was David's last day. He ordered pizza for everybody as part of his farewell party. (He seemed a bit upset when he learned that Vince had eaten four slices!:P)

But I will never forget our last conversation that late afternoon in the computer lab:

"Good luck, David."

"Good luck to you too." He smiled warmly as we shook hands. He held mine a moment longer. "You know, this school has made the right decision when they recruited you. I can tell that you're confident enough. You've made a nice addition to this school."

"Thank you." I could feel myself beaming at that.:D

The Author/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!