Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-12-20 - 4:27 a.m.

I am glad that I have got two days off this week.:) At least I have got some rest.

Plus, this is also the last week of work this month - and year too.:D YAY! After the 24th, it's the year-end holiday. Then we start again next month - and year - on January 2.

I know I still have a lot to catch up with and I will. I have decided not to extend my period of adjustment. I think one month is enough. I can't be too slow about it. I must work fast.

Still, I need to calm down. I must not easily panic next time.

I have made friends with some of the teachers and staff there, but my instinct tells me not to play all my cards way too soon yet. If I do so, I am afraid I might not survive the next round.

Almost everybody there has been aware that I am T's friend. 'Mari' asked me about how I had learned that the school needed more teachers. Before I responded, a senior teacher - hmm, let's just call her 'Goddess M' - interrupted slyly, "She got an inside tip from a friend."

I blinked, unsure how to respond to that. Noticing my expression, she quickly added with a - hopefully - reassuring smile: "From a friend who thinks she's competent."

"Ooh." 'Mari' nodded. I tried to smile, but it came out as a rather sheepish grin. I mean, I am not sure whether I have to take that as a compliment or...a challenge to prove them that I really am competent for the job. Even when I know that their previous boss Cam (who recruited me) is also T's friend, I tried not to use T's name as an 'easy access' for the job. I got there because I did my best and Cam believed that I could.

Or maybe both, perhaps??

Aargh, I hate office-politics!:x

*deep sigh*

Oh, well.:| I must face that like an adult, anyway. (I mean, I am.:P) So far, I am still doing what T has strongly advised me to do. Do your job well. Get along with everybody. Play dumb to office-politics.

Okay, it's getting more and more difficult to keep doing the last part. I have started hearing 'stuff'. Hushed whispers in the corner.

And there have been people telling me 'things'. If one asks me: "Haven't you noticed?", I simply put my best, hopefully most convincing blank expression and slowly shake my head. Oh, dear. Good acting is required here!:O

T's so sure that I will survive here. I have to make sure that he's not wrong about me!

The Author/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!