Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-11-24 - 9:28 p.m.

A half of last week was filled with my sickness.:(

It started on Tuesday night last week when I ordered fish and chips at the restaurant next to where I work. It was delicious, but something happened after that at midnight.

My body was suddenly burning. My stomach was churning. I couldn't sleep.:'-(

I threw up in the bathroom that very night. Then I came back to bed shivering. I fell into a restless sleep...

On Wednesday morning last week, I couldn't get up. My head was spinning.:(

I called in sick that day.

On Thursday morning last week, I had felt a bit better - so I went to Panglima Polim. My student had already cancelled the class that day, but I had to wait and see Michael for a discussion.

Which was a big mistake.:(

I did see Michael finally that afternoon, though, but it turned out that I still wasn't well.

I couldn't finish my breakfast, because I suddenly felt sick again.:( My tongue was still dead white. (Usually, that is a sign of serious dehydration.) I was also craving for something sweet (to get rid of the acid sensation in my mouth), so I ended up buying a small package of sweets.

And I couldn't stop eating them until T practically snatched the pack away from me.

"Okay, you need to stop with that," he suggested, but he was also grinning. "Too much sugar is bad for you."

"But I hate the acid taste in my mouth." Then I told T what had happened. (Well, not exactly everything - yuck!xP) I knew I sounded a bit like a spoiled ten-year-old girl, but I just couldn't help it. He often acts like a big brother to me, hehe.:P

"Then you'd better drink tea." He handed me a sachet of lemon tea. Aww!:D

"Okay." I hugged him lightly. "Thanks. You're a darling."

Too bad you aren't straight.:P*big evil grin*

He just grinned.

While waiting for Michael, I tried my best not to throw up a lot again. I still felt sick.:( It seemed to be getting worse as the day wore on. I found myself staggering most of the time, NOT walking. I felt like a weakling old lady.

In the end, I couldn't go to Ciputat. Too sick, too weak. My friend Mz.D - who had just started her morning class there - came downstairs into 'The Bat Cave' (that's how I call the teachers' room there, fyi.:P) When she saw me, she looked worried.

"Are you okay?"

"No." By that time, I had already texted my principal Marty, Panda, and Jules that I wasn't coming to Ciputat that afternoon. I didn't dare risk it. "It turns out that I am still sick."

"Ouch." Then she turned to the others. I heard her talking to T. I was sitting at Linda's desk, holding my dizzying head in my hands.

"I'm not used to seeing you this down," Michael observed me. Robert nodded in agreement.

"Sorry," I told them both weakly. "You can blame it on my illness."

"Oh, I will." He smiled. I smiled back weakly, realizing that he was only trying to cheer me up. What a nice old chap!:D

Dewi had urged me to order lunch before I left, so I agreed. I didn't order much from GM. I was still too afraid to eat a lot. Mz.D left for Ciputat.

After lunch, I went to the office sink in the room to wash the dishes. I had to stop, though, because my head was spinning again. Everything in the room suddenly seemed too bright for my photosensitive eyes.

And the water tab in front of me looked as if it was...getting bigger.

Okay, that was not a good sign.

I felt a gentle hand on my back.

"Are you okay?" Oh, it was T's voice. Wait, was he whispering? Why? "Do you need to sit down?"

"In a moment." I realized that I was whispering too. Was I going to faint? "My head is still spinning."

"Your stomach still feels sick?"

"Something like that." Which I was trying to forget.

"I still have some tea if you'd like."

"No, thanks. I just 'wasted' the last one you gave me this morning." Realizing what I'd just said, I quickly added: "Sorry I just gave you the bad news."

He chuckled and I relaxed a little.

"It's okay, it's okay," he said. "My God, you're still shaking."

"I know." And I hated it.

"You can't go to work like this."

"I know." See? This is why T feels like a big brother sometimes. "I'm calling a cab home after this."

That's what I did. I went home early after that.

I was still sick on Friday. Menti stopped by and thought my tongue still looked dead white. Mom and my brother went to Bandung for the weekend.

I finally visited the doctor on Saturday morning. (Ha! Some weekend, eh?*sneers*:P) He didn't give me much, though, saying that I had gotten rid of most of the poison by throwing up constantly before.

Now I'm ready to rock again.:D More stories to come.

The Author/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!