Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-05-18 - 9:08 p.m.

If you had to encounter with unpleasant situation related to arrogance and ignorance, what would you do? Would being active-aggressive always solve the problem and satisfy you? Would you prefer the other way around, leaving the solution to The Absolute and Divine One we all know as...God?

"Say What You (Don't) Mean, Mean What You (Don't) Say"

I have listened to a talkshow on a local radio station for some time. (I don't want to be sued like what happened to Prita Mulyasari with Omni Hospital back then, so I'd better not mention the name of this particular radio station.:P) They always air on Monday night.
Four weeks ago, I texted my opinion for a topic on their show. I even helped the announcers when they forgot the title of a Nicolas Cage movie. Because of that, they announced that I was one of the five winners that night to get free copies of a sci-fi novels from a new local author. I was so excited.
Just when I was ready to jot down their numbers for further confirmation, they suddenly announced on the air that all winners had to wait to be personally contacted by their people. So I put my pen down and waited.
Three weeks went by and nothing happened. When I listened to their show again last week, I texted to remind them about their promise. Maybe it was my mistake that I'd waited too long. However, to my surprise, the announcers told me on the air that I had to call them first for further confirmation. They even casually announced their numbers, so that I could take notes.
"But three weeks ago, on the air, you said that all the winners had to do was wait for your call," I texted them again. "Which one is for real? Please don't confuse me."
And I should have added: "Because I've always enjoyed your show."
This time, they didn't even bother to read it on the air. And they didn't even get back to me. Not at all.
I know that practical people would tell me to just call them first and get it over with, but that is not the point. It is about keeping your word.
I wonder why some media people have to act that way. It is actually a sad fact that they have to be that arrogant to their loyal audience, as if their attention is very dispensable. Doesn't even one voice matter?

"The Locker Room Super Silliness"

You can say I am exaggerating, but how would you feel if something like this happened to you?
Last Thursday was a public holiday, so I played squash with my brother and his friends. When I was done playing, I went to the ladies' room to change. I was sweating a lot, so I decided to take a shower. I took only what I needed and left my green gym bag on a long, spacious cement bench.
While I was in the shower, I heard voices outside the door. A group of girls were entering the room, gossiping. From their conversation, I could tell that they were not my brother's friends.
After I finished, I got dressed and walked out. Three tall, slim, and beautiful girls were still chatting. They only eyed me briefly, which was fine...until I noticed something very disturbing.
My gym bag was on the floor. The long, spacious bench was now occupied with their stuff. Their bags and a pair of shaded gray jeans. Well, even with those, there was still enough space for my gym bag, yet they chose to put it on the floor.
My first thought was: What is their problem? I glared at them. They fell silent, but only for a while. Then they looked away and went on with whatever they were doing.They were all acting as if I wasn't there at all.
What was that all about? Was I in a high school girls' locker room setting for a typical Hollywood teen-flick? You know, the scene where the pretty, popular, prissy princesses gang up on a quiet, mousy nerd in their most ridiculous ways - only because they think they can and are bored to death with their 'so-called' perfect life?
Aren't we all walking cliches sometimes? I know their type. They're the most annoying and insecure bullies who think they can get away with anything - by using their good looks, fake plastic smiles and sweetness, and the number of friends, alliances, and blind admirers who'll do anything to stand by them. They will never stand alone, because - let's face it - girls like them always prefer playing smart by feeling powerful in numbers than brave but on their own. They know how to make other people look bad with their cunning, evil tricks - just to make them feel good and look better too.
No, it wasn't just the bag. It was about respect and tolerance - even to strangers using the same public space. Those things don't seem to matter that much anymore these days.
Thankfully, I was still sane and sensible enough to just pick up my bag and go. They weren't even worth my precious time (despite the fact that I'd also been in a hurry at that time.) Let someone else give them the bad karma.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!