Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2009-07-20 - 2:52 p.m.

How does my English accent really sound?

"You have a slight mid-western American accent," said Tiger once. "And no, your British accent sounds horrible."
*giggles*:P

"You sound so British sometimes," commented Patrick. "Where did you get that?"
Good question.*big evil grin*

"You sound so British," said Sara, Mary Jo's best friend. "I bet no one will think you're Indonesian if you come to South Carolina."

"You sound very American," said Geoff, a British English teacher at where I work. "You know, it took me twice to talk to you, until I have finally noticed that."

"Have you ever been to Australia yet?" asked Brent, a Canadian tourist I once met on the bus one Saturday afternoon - on my way to the book fair. He was like the younger, smaller version of actor Dermott Mulroney - with short gray hair and...smoky-blue eyes too.:| "Your accent sounds like someone from there."
*cracks up laughing*

--- // ---

About a few nights ago, I'd been a clumsy, 'accidental' stunt.:P
You see, I was on my way home. I saw a public, white minivan parked across the street. I was crossing the street and then walking behind it, when suddenly the key-chain from my backpack's zipper got caught in the car's back-light's jagged edge.
That was when the driver started the car.
I gasped as I got dragged a few centimeters forward. Panic-stricken with fear, I started banging on the back window and screaming at the driver.
"Stop! I'm stuck!"
Finally, a passenger at the back turned around and noticed me with horror in his eyes. When he yelled at the driver to stop, the driver hit the brake...and I bumped into the window. Hard.
Ow.:|
When I finally could release the key-chain and got into the minivan, the driver had looked seriously pale.
"I-I'm really s-sorry," he stammered. "I-I didn't s-see you."
It's okay," I breathed. "I wasn't careful too."
Guess I'm not exactly Hollywood-stunt material too.*giggles*

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!