Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-09-24 - 7:39 p.m.

Last night, I found two threads in some forum (I'm not going to mention a specific name here) that was seriously offending me.:x Those were made by some random girl, and I believe I don't need to mention her username here. I just read that her posts said something about my religion was all the same just like the others: nothing but lies. She'd even said that The Koran (it's supposed to be The Holy Quran, because I totally disagree with changing the name into a more western tongue :|) was...*deep sigh* stupid. Why did she think so? She'd assumed that it taught people to strap bombs on themselves and kill people in the streets and other public places.
And where does that leave me?:( I'm a Muslim myself, but I don't do all that stuff. Still, I believe that I have the lifetime obligation to defend my religion.
So I did. I was careful enough not to bitch too much, because it's still fasting month here. (Surprise, surprise, knowing how temperamental I usually am.:x) I'd told her not to insult religions if she chose not to have any. I challenged her if she'd really read (and understand) the entire Quran so she'd have had the nerve to assume such things!:x I'd even called her naive for believing just about everything shown on the news/mass media, because --- these days, people --- journalism is getting more and more easily altered by political propaganda. I've spent three years in college studying that.
Of course, I'm not into denial about 9/11 --- or two bombings in Bali.:( I've accepted that fact, although it still hurts me with huge sorrow and shame. (My God, how could they do that?) I still remember my frantic e-mail to my best friend River in NY, asking if he was okay. When he'd replied that he was, I'd been so relieved. I'd told him how sorry I was that it happened, and I hoped that it would've badly affected our friendship. Thankfully, River had said that he believed I wasn't like that too. Just like me, River believes that no religions should ever be used as an excuse for violence against people. I mean, Islam is (supposed to be) about peace, compassion, and forgiveness.:( I don't get it.
Alright, back to that random girl in that forum.*rolls eyes* I noticed that her posts were connected to a thread about gays (also quite insulting, eventhough the author had intended to make it as 'just a silly joke' :|) She said she hated it when people easily made negative assumptions about gays. Okay, fine. I get it. Well, I have gay friends too, FYI. I respect them as well.
But the way she'd said it...God, I'm sure only immature people who claim that free speech means not having to give a fuck about what others may feel.*rolls eyes* She'd even blatantly challenged those who felt offended by her posts and told everyone in the forum to 'grow up'. In HUGE, BLOCK LETTER!
Yeah, right.*rolls eyes* Just give me a Goddamned break!
Does free speech equal free insult as well?
Oh, I'd also told her that --- for someone who hates generalization, look who's talking? She did the same. Even worse, by easily classifying all religions just as the same.*rolls eyes*
*sighs*Man, I forgot that there are seriously crazy people over the internet as well.
Look, I can be friends with anybody. But if they bad-mouth about my religion, then be prepared for my wrath. Don't even dare blame me for that. I'll fight with all my might.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!