Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-09-23 - 6:52 p.m.

Last night, my parents were going out to Uncle Warno's house in Kayu Putih, North Jakarta. The Almost Twins were going out too. My sister was with her boyfriend Gatot, of course. My brother was with his best friends Ari and Ari's girlfriend Indie.
And, as usual, I happened to be the one with lack of social life.:P*rolls eyes* Work's taken most of my time and strength these days. Seriously, I miss going out with my friends. But, what else can I do?*shrugs* Whenever I hang out with them, I always end up quietly worrying about spending too much money just for fun. (No, it's not that I am so stingy.:|) Besides, I often feel tired after work.:( I also need my solitude. (And no, it's not that I'm selfish and anti-social.:P I'm just an aspiring writer, remember?)
Damn, I still haven't finished my short story yet.:( I know the deadline is still October 10, but it's approaching closer everyday. Yikes!
So, anyway --- I closed the restaurant at straight nine, as usual. One of my sister's old high-school friends Donnie A. suddenly showed up. When I told him we were already closed, he'd looked disappointed. No, I didn't really feel guilty about it. In fact, I was already way too tired to even care.:| I mean, it was already after-hours, for God's sake! What did he expect me to do, extending the opening hours more just for him?*rolls eyes* I know it was Saturday night, but there was no more guests around. I mean, just because he's my sister's friend doesn't make him get special treatment. I know what her friends (especially those guys) usually do when they come to the restaurant on Saturday nights. Only one or two will order something to drink at least, but then they end up hanging around until sometime around after midnight before finally getting bored or tired or whatever. Or sometimes, they just want to hang around without having to order anything else.
And if they expect me to wait on them just like that like I usually did before, then it's not going to happen anymore this time.:( I'm not going to let them waste my precious time. Sorry, I've got better things to do.*rolls eyes*
And believe me, it's not that I like being mean to them or anything else like that.:(
Long ago, my sister had once suggested that we close at ten instead of nine, only so her friends could freely stick around much longer.*scoffs* Yeah, right. Does she even care that the kitchen staff could get exhausted too? No.
But if she could pay us more, then that's just another story. Hehe.*big evil grin*
At least, I was still kind enough to give Donnie a free glass of water that night.:P He'd still thanked me anyway. I was silently sorry for my lack of hospitality, though.*blushes*
I suddenly dreamed of Andy last night. How strange.:-S He'd looked unusually anxious about something.
That's why I texted his cellphone this morning. He replied, saying he was okay and thanks.:) Good.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!