Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-08-16 - 7:10 p.m.

I didn't get the chance to update an entry yesterday, so I am going to recap a couple of days into this one.
I'd finally composed another writing beside...this.:P I'd sent a quick-written poem for an online contest before August 15 (the deadline). However, I wasn't too happy about it.:( I'm still battling my writer's block here. I hate it.
By the time I returned to The Restaurant, it turned out that my brother's friend (who's also become mine, due to our similar interests in arts and stuff) Danar and his new girlfriend Galuh had already been there two nights ago. Danar's suggestion really hit me and --- since he's also already a professional freelance artist --- I must take his words for it.
"We can't always rely on our mood. Actually, it's up to us to keep stabilizing it by mentally creating a comfort zone around us for that."
Alright, I get it.:| That means I must relax and discover my quiet solitude and my me-time. These days have been hectic. It's not that I'm being ungrateful with work and not enjoying it too, though.
All the while Danar and I had been exchanging a conversation, I caught Galuh paying close attention to us with obvious interest and curiousity. (I still don't know her much yet, but she seems nice and friendly --- although tad quiet too. Danar once mentioned that she was also an introvert like me.) I grinned at her and casually explained, "Well, he and I often discuss stuff like this and also exchange ideas and suggestions."
"Oh, I see." Galuh nodded with a sweet smile on her beautiful face.:) I'd felt relieved. I don't know why I often unconsciously do that. It's like, when my male buddies are in a relationship and bringing their girlfriends along --- I have to make sure that my existence in these guys' lives won't cause any kind of (unnecessary) jealousy nor insecurity, if you know what I mean. I respect other people's relationships. It's all cool if I'm not attracted to him and still able to get along with the girlfriend. But if I am, I still have to be fair. Either way, I just want to show that I'm not a threat to anybody's relationships here.*shrugs* Besides, I believe I don't have the talent to be a wrecker.:P Hehe. I am a terrible liar and I also don't have the heart to do so.
Okay, or maybe I am being rather too paranoid here.:| I mean, we all know that some people can be awfully insecure --- and that just sucks big time.
Thank God, Galuh seemed cool.:D In the end, she borrowed my SPICE!'s booklet of short stories from last year's issue on November. (One of my work was published in it.;D) She even asked me to teach her how to write a story. (Huh??)
Well, since I'm not exactly a professional in it, I can only say:

1.It all starts from genuine interest.;) Do you like writing? Do you really want to do it --- no matter how and what?

2.Reading references are necessary, but don't copy if you want your own authenthicity (sp?).

3.Writing a journal is already a good start, because it's so much easier. It's like having your own life as plots in your stories. Each entry contains its own short story, I believe.:P (That's why I believe that everyone can be a writer if they really want to.) I've read cool stuff written by talented bloggers online.:D

4.If you wish to do a fiction, let your creative imaginations loose. Then you can go from there. The rest is up to you, because the journey is yours.;)

Right, where was I?
Since we were swamped with catering orders yesterday, Mom and I had decided to crash at Panglima Polim the night before. I guess I'd somehow ruined Gatot's plan to sleep over as well.*big evil grin* I'd been half-asleep upstairs in The Almost Twins' shared room when The Bratty Couple suddenly barged in. They'd wanted to watch a DVD together. When The Princess Brat (my sister) told me that Mom still had some cream soup as leftovers downstairs, I got up. Good. I could just get out of there soon without seeming rude, as if I'd clearly wanted to avoid her stuck-up boyfriend somehow.*rolls eyes* Oh, wait. I really did want to avoid him.*big evil grin* That was just one damn good excuse (although I was also hungry...again.:P Hehe.)
At The Restaurant, I finished the entire bowl while Mom was preparing things for the catering orders. The delicious after-hour meal somehow made me feel all sleepy again. I guess I must've dozed off while lying on the couch, because --- when I suddenly woke up again at straight midnight! --- Mom was already gone and all the lights were out, although the AC was still on. (It was obvious that she'd intentionally left it on for me, since mid-year is always the hottest in Jakarta. Well, it's always tropical here.:P)
But the mosquitos were bitches!:x Grrr, sleazy little blood-suckers --- disturbing me in my sleep!!
I don't know if Gatot really did stay overnight, because he and his gray scooter had gone the morning I woke up. To be honest, I don't even want to know. Don't bother.
All yesterday went by in a flash, but thank God we closed the restaurant early (at 3:30 pm) --- due to mass exhaustion from the morning's catering orders.:P I'd met that same guy in the cargo elevator again, but --- unfortunately --- this time he wasn't so good-looking as before.*giggles* I guess first impression doesn't always last long. Hehe.*big evil grin*
At home last night, my parents and I watched "Heroes".:D Mom thought that my hair looked like Sendhil Rawamurthy's (you know, that handsome Indian actor who plays Mohinder Suresh in that TV series) when I forgot to brush it. Ha-ha.:P Eventhough he's gorgeous (especially with that smile and...*gasps* thick eyebrows!:P) and I'm a tomboy, that kind of teasing was still not so appealing. Get real, Mom.
And I've also noticed that his accent sometimes reminds me of...Tiger.:( I miss him, I must admit (Tiger, not Sendhil.)
And I think I'm going to cry now.
:'-(...
Alright, alright, I'll snap my sappy self out of it!*rolls eyes*
*deep sigh*
Not much to tell about today.:P The Princess Brat pouted when our brother told her he couldn't drive her to work because he had to deliver the orders. She'd called for a taxicab in the end, eventhough it's bloody expensive.
Good.:| She's supposed to realise and understand that she's not always everybody's first priority on their list.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!