Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-06-06 - 7:13 p.m.

*deep sigh* I am not sure where to begin this entry, but still...I'll try my best anyway.:P I hope I'm not doing too bad, since I'm still feeling all sleepy and tad hollow while writing this. It's also going to be a long entry.
I went to Jelambar again on Sunday afternoon for another "Speak-Out's Off-Air Gathering" in Surya Pemandu School.:D YAY! I've been missing all of them very much. As usual, I took off from Panglima Polim to Blok M's bus station at sometime around ten in the morning and used two Trans-Jakarta buses to Harmoni and Jelambar. Since Hani had asked me to meet her at Ciputra Mall at twelve first, that's where I'd gone earlier.
I got to arrive in Ciputra Mall at...11:45.:P*giggles* I know, I was being an early bird again.
At 12:05, Hani still hadn't shown up yet.:| Anxiously, I texted her and waited inside Dunkin Donuts, ordering a cup of iced-orange juice. Fortunately, not long after that --- Hani finally turned up.:) We left Ciputra Mall at sometime around after 12:30 or so, using a bajaj to Surya Pemandu. Dian had texted my cellphone, telling me she'd have definitely caught up with us there.
I was sooo happy to see them all over again.:D Since they haven't seen me in a while, most of them were surprised to see my new haircut (hehe).:P Andy's gained a little weight, but he looked much fresher.*giggles* Kristin was going to return to The States on Tuesday...*snifs*:'-( There was also Kristie. Mary Jo and her parents Chuck and Jane (to be honest, my country's cultural background makes me feel awkward calling them by their first names, so I still ended up calling them "Sir" and "Ma'am" more often.*blushes*) Patrick showed up with his second family Tammy and her teenage son Seth (I was seriously stunned to learn that he'd already graduated from high school, because he seemed much younger than that to my eyes.:O Oh, well. That was just my first assumption about him.*giggles*)
Our other friends?*huffs* Yikes. Let's just hope that I don't leave anybody behind, okay?*cringes* But if I unintentionally do, then...*shrugs* sorry.*blushes*
Chenny. Ali. Dian (of course!:P) Janna. Menti (not my aunt, but they both have the same name.:P) Mega (thanks for the delicious cake, girl!;D) Luluk. Ari. Hesti. Maya. Wina and her friend Dina. Tia.
I really enjoyed that sunny Sunday.:D Mary Jo's parents were genuinely warm. So was Tammy. At first, I'd kind of assumed that Seth might've been the quiet type, because he didn't seem to talk much. Later, I saw that he and Andy were pulling each other's legs (British idioms!*giggles*) That was when I started noticing that mischievous glint in his eyes. Oooh!*big evil grin* You must be careful with him. He sort of reminded me of my own brother, especially when he was sitting next to his mother that afternoon --- sort of leaning against her. Awww, cute!:P
After the gathering, I headed back to Ciputra Mall with Dian, Hani, Janna, Luluk, Wina, and Dina for a while. Then I got on the Trans-Jakarta buses with Hani, and we parted in Dukuh Atas. I returned to Blok M...
On Monday night, I returned to Ciputra Mall again --- this time to have dinner and play pool with everybody.:) Who? Kristie, Mary Jo and her parents, Janna, Hardi, Andy, Lydia, Mila, and Daka. We ate in "Platinum" (I love their fried calamari!:D) Patrick, Kristin, and Seth caught up with us. Mila kindly gave some gifts; cute, stuffed animals for Kristie, Kristin, and Mary Jo --- and a hat for Patrick. (Andy had joked, "Hey, how come Patrick didn't get the same stuffed animal too?":P)
By the time we were about to play pool, our group grew with more friends coming --- Handi, Henri (or Henrick??), and Ali. I don't know just what happened to me that night, but...I kept being the jinx in the game.:P Why? Whenever I teamed up with anybody, I'd always gotten us lost.*blushes* First, I was with Mary Jo's father Chuck against Ali and Janna. There was this critical moment when I tried Chuck's suggestion. I did put the ball in the hole --- along with the cue.:| Chuck was quite dismayed.
"No, not like that!"
"I'm sorry!" Ooops!:O Then I switched partner with Ali, while Chuck was with Patrick. (Janna quit for a while.) Ali was obviously an excellent player, but --- thanks to me --- I got us lost.:P Oh, well...
After two games, I decided to take a break and handed the stick to Henri. I sat with Patrick by the stairs and we chatted. (Btw, before that, the three of us --- with Chuck --- had made funny poses with the sticks while Hardi took our picture with a camera.*giggles*) I don't know why, but I suddenly had this crazy idea of folding my dry upper lip backward, so my front teeth were more visible. (Well, you can call that one of my rare 'specialties' if you like.*big evil grin*) Hardi must've thought I'd looked ridiculously freaky, because he took a picture of me with that scary expression.LOL!!
Then Patrick tried doing the same and Hardi took his picture too. That was hilarious!*giggles* Andy thought Patrick had looked like some crazy bunny character infected with some sort of disease.
After playing pool, Kristie went home early, because her friend Meredith stayed overnight at their place in Tanjung Duren. I joined the others for a late-night chat session at Starbucks in Sarinah, sharing a taxi with Hardi and Kristin on the way and back. When I heard Patrick and Seth talking, they sounded like real brothers (*giggles*):

Patrick: "Is your mom okay with you still staying up this late?"
Seth: "I don't know. She didn't say anything. What do you think?"
Patrick: "Don't ask me. I'm not the authority figure here."

Since Kristin was hungry, Hardi and I followed her to McDonald's first. Andy, Seth, and Handi caught up with us. I saw Seth order two fried chicken and rice, and I noticed that he didn't use any sauce. Hmm, just like me when I eat.
When Patrick came and everybody was done eating, we caught up with Mary Jo at Starbucks --- because she'd been on her own with her cup of green mint tea. Her parents had already taken off.
The same funny thing happened --- twice (or was it thrice? Hmm, my memory doesn't serve me well today.:|) First, one of the two round tables we were using that night wasn't stable.:P As soon as Mary Jo put her bag next to her cup, the cup fell suddenly and hot, mint tea just sloshed out --- splattering all over the carpet and our feet. Ouch! Mary Jo had turned red, but soon she recovered from embarrassment. Kristin had kindly bought her another new one.
The second happened during jokes in conversation.:P Andy was holding his cup and Patrick sort of interrupted their middle space on the couch, playfully shoving Seth aside --- and accidentally knocking Andy's cup over...to the front of his white T-shirt.*gasps* The next thing we all saw was drops of chocolate liquid on it.:O
And my only comment was: "That was the second spill of the night!"
"Third," Seth corrected me. (Huh??)
Feeling bad, Patrick offered Andy to wear his dark blue polo shirt (he was wearing white underneath) while Andy's white tee was rinsed in the bathroom. But when Patrick had struggled a little taking it off in front of everybody, Handi --- who had only meant well --- tried to help, but he ended up pulling his undershirt too by accident. Patrick jolted up and freaked out, "WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!"
LOL!!:P
When the blue polo shirt was on Andy, I was strangely impressed at how it fit it seemed. Yeah, Andy even admitted to me that he and Patrick were almost the same size.
And, if you want to know how to tell if Patrick is obviously exhausted, you should've listened to him say this that night:

"The crees are trying..." (Translation: it was supposed to be "The trees are crying...")

LOL!!:P That was sooo funny.
When Patrick realised that, he just giggled. Then he decided to go home, followed by Seth. Gradually, we ended the chat session and went home too.
By the time Kristin and I arrived in Tanjung Duren, it was already after midnight. I couldn't sleep yet, so I mostly watched Kristin packed up her loads of stuff while we were talking. You know, I kind of felt bad that I hadn't been able to hang out with her that much while she was still around.:( She's been fun.
*deep sigh*
I didn't check the time when I finally crashed...really hard. But I figured it wasn't that long, because I woke up at seven. I'd gotten to know Meredith before she got into a cab with her suitcase to catch a plane to Yogyakarta.
Since I couldn't go back to sleep, I took a shower and then watched TV for a while until the girls were ready.
We had breakfast with Hardi and Lili at Pizza Hut in Ciputra Mall. When Hardi recalled the spilling incident that involved the shirt exchange to Kristie, I couldn't help but giggling all over again. Well, what else can I say? It was funny!:P
I didn't go to the airport with them. I knew Tammy was leaving too, but Patrick said that Seth would stick around this whole summer. He seemed fun, like Patrick and Andy. They're like the kind of fellows that can make other people laugh.:)
Have a safe journey back home, Tammy and Kristin. We'll miss you loads.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!