Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2007-03-25 - 7:32 p.m.


Ella*:

I don't understand my parents.:'-( They never respect my point of views and opinions. They expect all their four children (including me, of course) to just shut up and listen. They want us to always be obedient.
Since I've always been the one who argues back, they can't stand me even more. They just find me as difficult and rebellious, while they think they're never wrong. Mom even said once that she regretted having me as one of her daughters. She prefers my brother more, but I don't care about that anymore. Thankfully, Dad's still being fair enough.:) He still loves all of us, no matter what.
Come to think of it, I'm tired of the constant fights.:( I guess I'll just let them all believe what they like about me, while I silently carry on with my own idealism...

Yasmin*:

My parents are overly spoiling my brother. That brat never has to do any chore at home.:x For example, one day Mom needs one of us to get some groceries in a nearby marketplace. At that time, I'm busy studying for a school-test, while dear brother is lounging in the couch and watching TV. Just guess who gets to do the task?
Yup, it's me.:| It always is. Even when I protest and point at my brother, saying, "Why not him? He's not doing anything else right now, while I'm still studying!", I know Mom will always come up with the same old answer:
"He's a guy."
That is so unfair!:( He gets to be treated like a prince, while I'm more like Cinderella (but not the one in a beautiful ballroom dress and a pair of glass shoes, though --- at least not like that!:P)
However, I believe that I still must be grateful of my situation, though.:) Why? I'm much more independent and resourceful than he is. I can do the things that he can't. That's even so much better...

Rose*:

It's been perfectly obvious ever since.:( I don't know why, but Dad's always thought of me as a total freak since I was a kid. In his eyes, I never do things right or perfectly. I was never an ace student in school (no matter just how hard I've tried) and I've been more of a rebellious tomboy. Worst of all, I've also inherited his temperamental moody side. I am also stubborn. However, since I've already grown way too tired of arguing back, I choose to keep my mouth shut --- especially these days. I know, it's not good. But what choice do I have? He hardly listens.*shrugs*
Mom's always been treating my sister more like a precious porcelain.:| Anything she wants, she must always get --- no matter how and what. Lately, things are just getting worse. My sister has a boyfriend. Well, that's okay. But Mom's been wanting him to marry her soon, so she decided to keep spoiling him too. Mom's even overly praising this guy as if he's some sort of this flawless character everyone should truly admire and make a role model for. Yeah, right. As if!
The Couple get to use our only family car all they like, while I mostly (have to) take the bus. Well, fine. Besides, I'm already used to it since college. What I really can't stand is this:
Whenever the two of them do something wrong, Mom will always protect them at any cost.:| She won't even let them be responsible for their own actions --- unlike any mature adult really should. I am not kidding!:x They're always being justified. It seems that everyone around should understand that and just sacrifice for The Golden Couple.
Well, let them all just do what they like, but stay away from my life.:x That's my territory. I don't mind if Mom only loves them more than me these days, as long as she won't forget my brother --- who obviously still needs her attention too. That's okay. I want to be more independent, anyway. I must be fully responsible for what I do.
My goals these days: get a highly-paid job and get my own place I can afford on my own, so I won't have to keep seeing what's painfully obvious (and obviously painful too!) anymore at home. My self-therapy: writing, listening to rock music, singing, and going out alone (just to reflect on my life and think.)
Oh, well.:) I will survive. That means I'm strong enough to take anything, right? Besides, I don't want to bring that up to their faces. They might possibly only think of me as the jealous and insecure one here.:| No way!

(*All names have been changed. You know why.:P)

Sounds familiar? Do you know someone who's been going through the same issues as these three people?
Or somehow, do they remind you of your own?
I know you might wonder after you're reading this. Could that really happen? Could it all be true, or they were just being overly sensitive, nonsensical, and even jealous? I mean, if you ask, any parent out there will definitely answer, "Of course I love all my children!" They'll never admit that they're playing favourites, whether it's true or not. (Although sometimes --- just sometimes, that is --- there are those cruel enough to show their own kids that!)
In the end, we can only accept that our parents aren't perfect. No human being ever is. We can't expect them to always be fair, because...that's just life.*shrugs* They can get tired too and (accidentally) leave a child behind and forgotten. Maybe they just think they already do their best. Maybe they don't realise that even glitches like these can still happen, eventhough they believe they're being fair enough.
That's why, we must look after ourselves, because nobody can always be around to do that for us.
For all of you who get the most attention and luxury at home, just be grateful and don't ever take that for granted.:P Remember, nothing lasts forever. But for those of you who feel the opposite --- you should just feel lucky.:) Why? Being obedient isn't always good, because that means you might never be able to stand up for yourselves and carry on with your own principles. Being overly-spoiled won't make you become more mature and independent, because you're not being used to being responsible for your own actions. In fact, you're lucky because you're being given a great chance to learn how to survive in this harsh reality. Maybe your parents still think you're being insolent, but --- if they're sensible enough --- I'm sure one day they'll be proud of you for being able to stand up for yourselves, make your own decisions, and just be fully responsible for all you do like cool adults. Maybe you're never really they're favourites at home, but at least you know what you really want in life and how to reach for your goals. In the end, those things will make you stronger than ever.:)

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!