Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-04-10 - 6:57 p.m.

Mom's birthday!:D Yesterday, my sister and I dragged her to shop around the downtown area of Blok M, South Jakarta. My sister ended up buying Mom a pre-birthday gift --- a lavender polo shirt.:)
We celebrated Mom's birthday in the restaurant (sure, where else?:P) Besides my own family, there were also Grandpa; my Uncle Iwan and his wife Aunt Dewi with their two kids Shari and Omar; Menti and Big Memi with their three kids Panji, Adinda, and Andra; Aunt Ria with her husband Uncle Asoka (who'd given The Almost Twins and I free-tickets to that jazz festival last month) and their son Emir (his brother Rizki is still in Malaysia); my sister's boyfriend Gatot (who got teased a lot by Aunt Ria today *giggles*); my brother's two friends --- the couple --- Affa the violinist and Mahesa; and Mom's old best friends since junior high Mr.Fatan and Mrs.Eri Sofyan (she's also a lecturer in my old college University of Indonesia, Depok).
The Almost Twins and I bought her a nice, creamy strawberry cheesecake at "Harvest's" (and I just can't forget how good it tasted...mmm...:P) Then, after eating (a bit too much, now I have a headache :|), I sat behind my counter for a while. Then I got bored and decided to join the other kids outside. Affa had brought a deck of UNO cards and they'd been playing and giggling a lot (Gatot lost most of the time.*giggles*) After a close watch of the game, I'd decided to join their last match.:) It was fun. It's a game that requires intense focus, and thank God I was pretty good at that.
Although it's Mom's birthday today, Gatot got more attention.:P Aunt Ria kept half-teasing him with 'serious' questions (like: how serious are you with my niece? Are you up for a fling or a commitment? How many girlfriends have you had before?). while my red-faced sister helplessly begged, "STOOOP!!!" But Gatot's a nice guy, he didn't take it too seriously (or so he'd seemed.) It turned out that the guy also knew a little of plan-reading (he's also so into Javanese mythology.) After my Aunt Ria had jokingly asked him to read her palms (which had somehow backfired on her, because he read her little dirty secret *big evil grin*), I extended mine and he'd simply read:
"You have a blood-related disease." (True, my low-blood pressure's caused me serious health issues. I used to faint pretty much a lot back in school with exhaustion.)
"Your maturity's still questioned." (Yes, and I'm so well-aware of that. The real question is: do I have to follow certain standards to be thought of as a real grown-up? To me, maturity is about being fully-responsible with your own decisions, not blaming others for your own choices in life.)
"You're very emotional and it's dangerous for you and other people around you." (Yikes. He's talking about my own worst enemy/my biggest weakness. My temperamental!:|)
Don't worry, I'm not offended.:) It's just simply the truth. What do I think of him (without reading his palm, of course *giggles*)? To be honest, if he might be The One for my sister, I don't mind.:) He's an okay guy. But we'll see.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!