Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-07-22 - 7:55 p.m.

Now, don't get any funny ideas when you read the title above. There are many first times that anyone may have experienced in their entire lives.

Saturday classes at work are interesting. This time, I was teaching a different class at 2:00 pm. It's a pre-intermediate one.

We were listening to two different stories related to 'first times' on the class recording. After eliciting all verbs in past simple, it was time for the students to create their own real-life stories. Then, they'd have to do another storytelling session later on. It had to be from their personal experiences.

The storytelling began on the second session at 3:45 pm. One by one, the students told their stories. Mostly, it was either about their first day at school/college/work.

Then, this college-aged guy came up with something interesting and rather...out of the box.

"I never forget that first moment I laid my eyes on my beautiful Grace," he started proudly, beaming. We all waited in anticipation, some boys smirking and girls grinning. "I saw her while I was browsing through an online gadget shop."

Okay, wait. Did she pass him by while he was doing that? I wondered curiously.

"I saw her on one of the online displays and purchased her right away," he went on, grinning broadly. "There she is, inside my rucksack."

We all stared at his half-zipped rucksack on the chair. There was Grace - a Hewlett-Packard laptop.

The whole class exploded in laughter. The guy kept grinning, obviously amused. How...unpredictable.

"I know people think I'm crazy," he went on. "But I don't care. She feels more like my best friend or even my girlfriend. We've had good times together. Thanks to her, I manage to finish all my college assignments on time and kill my boredom with movies to download."

I sat there speechless. Sometimes, you never know what to expect when teaching a class.

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!