Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-07-25 - 7:54 p.m.

Date: Saturday, July 23, 2011 - Sunday, July 24, 2011

Location: Ancol, North Jakarta

Event: Java Rockingland 2011

The Fab Four: me (hehe!:P), Gigi, Froggy, and Uthie

It was a long Saturday at Java Rockingland 2011 in Ancol, North Jakarta. It was also a short but wonderful adventure of The Fab Four (a.k.a. my friends and I. Hehe!:P)

We gathered at Blok M's underground bus station at sometime around four. Then we took the Trans-Jakarta bus rides to Ancol. It was a quick one.

We arrived at Ancol at around five. It was still too early for us, even when the show had already started at four. The sky was still pretty bright, so we decided to walk all the way down to Carnival Beach - where the concert was being held.

It was one hell of a long walk, but I didn't care. We were having fun, taking pictures and joking around. The air smelt of polluted salty water. (North Jakarta is closest to the sea.)

We had dinner at MacDonald's before we entered the gate at 7:15 that night. It was already dark, and the place was packed, just like last year. Some bands had already been playing.

We stopped by to watch the performance of Young The Giant on one stage. It was the very first time for me to watch them, and I thought, "Wow, they're great." They even covered one track from The Strokes very well. The lead singer?*drools* Hehe.:P He was just so my type. Tall, with dark brown complexion and thick eyebrows. SEXY.:D He even has a sexy, singing voice (according to me, at least.:P Hehe.*big evil grin*)

That's why my friends had a hard time dragging me away to see other performers and roam around. It was like...pure infatuation. (Aww!:P) I felt like leaving part of my heart right there and then.

*giggles*

I know, I know.:P I'm just being crazy, as always.

Anyway, when I first heard the intro of Live's "All Over You" from the other stage nearby, I couldn't help myself. I bolted there, suddenly forgetting my three friends behind. (Sorry.*blushes*) Uthie still managed to keep up with me.

Ed Kowalczyk (sp?) - the lead singer of Live (I suppose the band's split for a long time now) - showed up with his other band. Earlier when I read the schedule for the Saturday shows, I'd thought he'd have only performed his own solo tracks. It turned out that he and his band were also playing songs by Live: "Selling The Drama", "I Alone", "Lightning Crashes", "Beauty of Grace", and even the ballad "Overcome". Oh, and they also played "Dolphin's Cry" and "Lakini's Juice".

"I wrote this song when my first daughter was born," Ed announced sometime that night. We all caught the cue, and somebody screamed before Ed even got the title out: "Heaven!"

Then came one of the sweetest songs a rock musician had ever made - all in the name of a father's love:

"I don't need no one
to tell me about heaven.
I look at my daughter
and I believe..."

Aww!:D

Neon Trees performed at a nearby stage right after Ed and friends left. I don't know this band that well. I only hear their song "Animal" on the radio a lot lately. I think they're pretty good. I'm also impressed with their lady drummer because she also sings back-up. She's very good!

The Cranberries really rocked the night.:D They started their part with "Don't Analyze", before carrying on with "Animal Instinct". They also played "Linger", "Just My Imagination", "Dreaming My Dreams", "Waltzing", "Ode To My Family", "I Can't Be With You", "Zombie", and "Salvation". They introduced some of their new songs from their next (comeback?) album, including "Schizophrenic Playboys".(???)

Dolores and the lads ended the show with "Promises" and..."Dreams".

We left the show sometime after midnight. I guess everybody must've been very tired.

All in all, it was an awesome show. Hope to see the progress of the event next year!

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!