Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-07-06 - 9:09 p.m.

"Jules, check this out."

I was showing my friends Jules a chick-lit from one of the stands at the book fair last Sunday afternoon. The title was "Fly Him To The Moon" (but please forgive me, I forgot the author's name!*blushes*) It's a typical romance comedy about two best friends - a dazzling girl and a plain tomboy - with the guys around them. (Sounds familiar.:|) After a while, the tomboy soon gets sick and tired to see all the guys notice her dazzling beautiful best friend instead of her. (Okay, too DAMN familiar.:|)

"What's that?"

"'Fly Him To The Moon'," I read the title out loud, although she could read it herself. Then, with my big evil grin, I added, "...and leave him there!"

We giggled like crazy.

"If he's a jerk, then he probably deserves it!" Jules went on and we cracked up laughing again. "Nobody's going to miss him that much here!"

Alright, not many people can get my dark, sarcastic sense of humour. But that was actually one of the signs why I'm romantically-challenged. It's like, when I watch this corny, romantic scene where the actor comes up with such a lame line: "I can't live without you!", I usually gag.:P

*sneers* Ha, ha. Don't blame the girl if she ends up saying: "Nonsense, you're still alive and breathing!":P

Anyway, I didn't buy that book. I'm still not mentally prepared to read stuff like that.

Still, I bought some other books that day.;) So did the ladies.

'The ladies' were Jules, Mz.D, and my old pal Nezzie. We had lunch at Gandaria City (the mall) and hung around there until night. It's mid-year and everyone here shops like crazy to celebrate the annual discount party. Books, clothes, bags, shoes...you name it.:P

Unfortunately, I've got a tight budget this month.:( I know it's holiday season too, but maybe it's just not my moment. While my friends were busy shopping, I tagged along - trying out some and commenting on their choices. Typical ladies' day-out.

Actually, I'm not much of an enthusiastic shopper when it comes to clothes. The same, old issue: the size. It's the plus-size me, if you know what I mean. Only a few stores cater to the needs of people like me here.:|

If I couldn't help myself, there would be these ridiculous wishful thoughts again. Like, I wish I had Mz.D's slightly towering frame. (But she told me her broad shoulders often give her problems when it comes to finding the right blazer.) Or Nezzie's petite figure and almond-shaped eyes. (And she also has problems finding clothes her size.) Or Jules' light complexion. (But she often says she can't stand the heat of the sun too long.)

But no, I'm a much different person now. I have to be.:) Unless it's work or other formal occasions, I rarely brush my long, rebellious curly dark hair. The previous paragraph? Just a short description of my friends.;)

We stayed there until dinner. On our way to the parking lot, I suddenly exclaimed: "It's good to be single!"

"Really?" asked Nezzie as she slung an arm around my shoulder. I caught Jules smiling at me.

"Hell, yeah!" I called out, realizing that I'd meant it (and still do). Nezzie grinned at me and agreed, "Yes, it is."

Indeed.:P Besides, I am also damn good at it.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!