Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-03-05 - 8:11 p.m.

The title above explains enough.:P The details are here:

Last Saturday:

I went to Gramedia's Book Fair in Istora Senayan - all by myself. I didn't spend too much time there. I also wasn't feeling too well. They had a tent where The Red Cross People were treating the blood donors. Since I'm an O positive, I've always wanted to donate mine. (O positive can help a lot of people.)

Unfortunately, when I was tested, my hemoglobin was seriously low.:( I also felt I was coming down with flu.

I'd almost been tempted to buy a local romance novel called "Refrain" by.Winnie E. I first caught a sight of it sometime ago, with the thought-provoking quote: There never is a perfect friendship or relationship. There are only people who try their best in it."

I ended up buying only a collection of articles by Emha Ainun Najib. Cak Nun is one of my favourite authors, artists, and socio-politics observers.:) He always adds a sense of smart humour in his writings.

By the time I got home, I was already sneezing and shivering. Grrh!:x I always hate being sick. How can I take care of other people if I can't even do myself well?:|

I know, I know.:P I'm being hard on myself. Old habits die hard.

Mom asked me what I'd bought from the book fair. I showed her the book and told her that I felt like staying the hell away from love/romantic stories. These days, I need something that is not so emotionally provoking. Something 'neutral' and...

"Smart?" she suggested. I nodded.

"Something more challenging for my brain," I agreed - before silently adding: and not destroying my mental health again. Somehow, when her eyes read my face, I had a strong feeling that she wasn't just talking about the book genres.

Good. At least she got the picture and didn't press 'that topic' any further as usual.

Last Sunday:

I stayed in bed most of the day.:( Sick with flu and a major sore throat. I hated it. I had a lot to finish and I couldn't even concentrate on a single thing. My workload. My writing projects. I'm a workaholic, remember?:P

Thank God, no sad thoughts or nightmares disturbing my sleep. It probably had something to do with me doubling up the dosage of my prescribed meds. I know I have to be careful with that, but I don't want to be sick too long. There's no time for that. The world never waits on you, so I must speed up my healing process.

Last Monday:

I went to work - all bundled up in a coat. Annoying fever!:(

Last Tuesday:

I was still sick. Grrh!:x

Last Wednesday and Thursday:

As promised, I became one of the judges for the storytelling contest in an all-boys boarding school again where Leese works in...Parung. Parung is a small town that borders Jakarta with Bogor, West Java. So technically, I went out of town and back for two days...speeding with an ojek biker on his motorcycle in the early morning. No joke.

That far? Oh, yes.:O Was I crazy? Well, I've been crazier.:P No big deal. After all, it was worth the trip. I've visited that dorm twice before on the same, annual occasion. The students - more of young gentlemen than just teenage boys - have always been fun and eager to learn new things in their lives. Impressive.

On Thursday morning at 3:16 am, my second nephew Gyan Nararyatama Hardiyanto (weighed 3.6 kgs/7.9 lbs and 49 cms/19.29 inches tall) was born.:D

Yesterday:

I've heard that there's another book fair at the same place. Mz.D and I also still have a postponed plan to try out "The CSI Experience" before it closes on March 20. Probably we'll do that after the report card days, which will be next week.

And no, I still haven't done any of my writing projects yet. Soon, after posting this entry. Please wish me luck, people.;) Thank you.

The Author/SBF/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!