Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-11-22 - 7:28 p.m.

"Everywhere you go, there are stories waiting to be told. All you need to do is keep your eyes - and minds - open."

(Riza Primadi)

I still remember what my college lecturer said during Broadcasting Journalism.:P Ironically, I also flunked that twice I had to attend his class three times. I bet I'd confused him pretty much back then.

Earlier this month, I sent a resume to the same magazine which has rejected my applications more than once before. I don't know why. Is there a thin, fine line between constant persistence with stubbornness? All I know is that they are looking for their online crews. I love writing and I am looking for a morning job as well. Plus, the bills keep coming, but that's nothing new. (Also, that is not something I'll ever share on any kind of interviews - no matter how desperate I might be. Eww.)

Still, I don't feel like letting my teaching job go. Can't I do both? May I??

I know, I know.:( I am way too greedy sometimes. In the end, it is still about choices we have to make. We just can't have it all, can we?

I have no regrets, though.:) I have tried my best, at least. When I was interviewed by the chief editor herself, she told me that they were looking for full-time journalists. As much as I dream about becoming one, I still have what some of you might know as work ethics. We've been running out of teachers, and one of my friends is resigning next month. I can't just quit and leave a black hole. Besides, my previous contract still ends in April...next year.

Still, it's a good thing that they didn't reject me because they thought I was incompetent for the job. It is a matter of principles.

However, there's a good sign as well. They have noticed my short stories in some of their previous issues. The chief editor seemed to notice just how much I enjoy writing, so she gave me an equally exciting challenge.

She was asking me to create a blog (in Indonesian :P) and write about the (possibly) interesting everyday life I witness. Maybe, just maybe - I might earn a good spot in their next issues...and hopefully gain more public recognition.

I am hoping for the best.:) So help me God.

The Author/SBF

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!