Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-05-01 - 8:50 p.m.

Sometimes, if we take some time to just stay quiet and listen to other people - or be aware of and observant to our surroundings, interesting stories and firsthand experiences might come up.

"Lady Cab Driver Versus Lecherous Creep"

I've heard this true story from a taxi driver on my way to CAE class on a Thursday morning. The driver, Mr.Sugeng, told me about one of his female colleagues. (Yes, we do have female taxi drivers here. He said most of them are widows/single mothers who just want to make ends meet.)
One day, Lady Cab Driver got this really, really weird passenger. It was a large man in a business suit. From the moment he hopped in, she'd sensed a threat. Instead of taking the backseat like most other passengers normally do, this man chose to sit next to her. (Although very rare, some drivers still think it's okay - despite the danger that may lurk behind that intention.)
Then he started playing with her long dark hair and touching her cheek, telling her just how pretty she was and that a beautiful woman like her shouldn't have taken such a dangerous job. (Note: Mr.Sugeng told me that yes, she was a beautiful woman, but that lecherous creep still had no right to do that to her!) However, the awesome thing about this amazingly brave and tough lady was that she did not panic. She remained calm, while - get this! - secretly recording everything on her cellphone, which was pretty well-hidden between her thigh and the door.*big evil grin*
"Sir, stop!" she firmly ordered the grabby passenger. However, Mr.Lecherous Creep In Fancy Suit was playing deaf and dumb. "I am still driving here. If you keep doing that, we're going to crash any second."
"That is okay," he replied coyly. "If we die, at least we die together."
Fortunately, Lady Cab Driver finally spotted a taxi stand nearby - the one from her company. About half a dozen male drivers were having a short break there. She skidded to a stop in front of them and got out the car, furiously pointing at her startled passenger.
"He was harassing me!"
"What?" Lecherous Creep got out, still looking alarmed but defensive as well. "No way! Where is the proof?"
"I have it here." She calmly replayed the recording on her cellphone, so that everyone could hear every word Lecherous Creep had said to her. Realizing the danger, he tried to escape - but it was all too late.
"LET'S GET HIM!"
The rest of the male drivers were beating the crap out of Lecherous Creep, until he was all black and blue - and bloody too.*big evil grin* Then they dragged him over to the nearest police station - along with the evidence and the woman's testimony.
Cool. Ha-ha.*big evil grin*
Of course, I enjoyed that story.:D I'd even cracked up laughing like crazy. Thank you Mr.Sugeng for such an interesting tale, and "You go, girl!" for Lady Cab Driver!
Hopefully, next time Lecherous Creep can remember that his brain is actually still in his head - not somewhere "down below"...*sneers*

"Give Us Your Money Or We'll Eat More Cutters!"

No, I'm not joking about the title. I just saw in on the bus today, on my way to Senayan for a squash practice.
The weather has been unbearably hot these days, so maybe some of the existing brains are slightly...fried.:P (Okay, I know it's a bad joke, but you'll see what I mean.)
I was sitting at the back of the bus. Out of the blue, two thugs with tattoos on their arms hopped on, standing at the aisle. At first, they were just reciting their poetry about bitter, harsh reality in their lives. (Typical beggars here.)
Then suddenly, to the passengers' horror, the thug in a dirty-looking green cap took out a small cutter. He started demonstrating, while his friend was narrating.
"Ladies and gentlemen, this ain't no magic here." Mr.Filthy Green Cap started unwrapping the cutter, and then slashing the wrapper to shreds. "This is what we often have to do when we're so hungry, but there is no money to buy decent food to eat."
After that, Mr.Filthy Green Cap suddenly started chewing on and - yes, that is right! - swallowing the cutter. The intimidation worked like an evil, twisted charm. A girl sitting in front of me suddenly got up and asked the driver to stop right in front of Pertamina Hospital, although somehow I could tell that was not her exact destination yet. She quickly jumped off the bus, while others started giving them a few Gs just so they wouldn't start doing something worse. I even gave them a three (trust me, it's not that much in rupiahs.)
After that, the thugs chose a perfect spot to sit until they reached their destination: next to me.
Not today, please, I silently begged God, but somehow still managed to keep my expression flat. Thankfully, I was still sensible enough not to mess with them, intentionally or else. It is not that I am a coward, I was just not in the mood and I don't have to prove anything to anyone. Besides, the weather was freaking hot! I know these people. If you even dare look at them funny, they'll make sure that they remind you to never, ever do that again - in a very, very painful way. I mean, as you can see, they've got nothing to lose. One of them just ate a cutter. Imagine what else they can do.
Well, let's not go there. At least, I still live to tell long after they got off that bus, right?:P

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!