Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-05-09 - 11:20 a.m.

The weather here has been so freaking hot lately, the kind that makes you want to just stay naked in your room with the AC on. (Hold that thought, gentlemen.:P I'm not inviting you in.*big evil grin*) But don't worry, I'm still sane enough to stay in clothes, haha.
Maybe I should buy a pair of shades and a mask as well, because wearing only a hat outside (plus an umbrella too) is just no longer enough. However, nothing is as pleasant as having you pulled over by cops who suspect that you might be either a lunatic or a terrorist - or both.
A lot has happened. Baby Ganesh is a happy, active one-year-old boy now - all smiling and running around the house with his quick, tiny steps. A new teacher at work is very funny.:) I thought he looked a bit like Forest Withaker, but Mz.D kind of disagreed with me.
Last week on Sunday, Mom suddenly couldn't take it anymore. Out of the blue, she asked me to dine with her at Wendy's. I knew why. My sister and her husband were still dead asleep and so was Ganesh. Somebody had to bathe the boy, especially because the weather was very hot and it was already ten in the morning. However, when Mom tried waking her up, all she got from her was: "Please, I went back to sleep at four this morning and I'm still tired. Unless somebody wants to bathe him."
............................
???
Oh, yeah. That was what I had in mind when I heard her. Imagine that, my sister who still thinks I am the childish, immature one.:P Surprise, surprise.*rolls eyes*
"That's her own son."
"True." I agreed and nodded as we made our way to the nearby local mall. "Her responsibility."
"Well...yes."
Ah, here we go again.*rolls eyes* It's a sad thing that a mother can't be firm enough with her (supposedly) grown-up daughter. But at least she didn't say much about her precious daughter. Isn't it ironic? She was so helpless. In the end, she always asks me to help her escape for a while from home.
After lunch at Wendy's, Mom and I parted for a while. I went to the bookstore for a quick browse. I am still finishing "Kiki Strike" and other piles are still waiting. I didn't intend to buy some more. I just needed a trigger of inspiration for my next writing.
When I caught up with Mom again, she told me that my sister had just called her cellphone, wondering where we might've gone. When Mom explained, she was ridiculously envious.
"What? No fair! Let me catch up with you guys there."
"We're already on our way back home," Mom had calmly lied to her on the phone. Amazing, even to my skeptic eyes.:P
And my sister was just not sensitive enough that Mom needed her break. I mean, she really deserved it. She's been taking care of Dad too, remember?
*deep sigh*
Why am I the only one at home noticing this? Maybe I should stop asking the same old, stupid question all over again and just accept things as they really are. Maybe I should de-sensitize myself. That would solve the problem, eh?
I guess that's why my sister was quiet with me for the rest of the day. Oh, whatever. It was Mom who asked anyway. It's not like my sister and I really talk anymore.*shrugs* No difference. No, I don't hate her or take her for granted. (Believe me, most of the time, it's people who often take me for granted - reality speaking.*scoffs*) We're just not close.
Well, she did say something that night. When the three of them came home from a trip somewhere, she went straight to her room to unload some stuff because Ganesh came to me. (I was watching an episode of "Fear Itself" with Dad in the living room.) Her husband went to the dining table and ate dinner alone, watching TV too. She didn't say anything about me having to mind Ganesh for a while, because she usually asked. But when Ganesh was following his mommy into her room, I thought it was okay to leave him be.
Then came the loud thump and the cry. G and I both got up to see. It turned out that Ganesh had stumbled upon a shoe.
After that, she passed me by and gave me the ugly look as she pointed out, "I thought you'd watched him."
Oh. It was my fault??:O
Ah, nevermind. As usual.
(Cold, cold, cold. That's just me these days. Cold and numb for most of the time.:| Enough said.)
Also, out of the blue, Gigi asked me to hang out with her again. No problem.*shrugs* I supposed she had something to talk about. We had dinner at GM and then she bought a scarf for Uti's birthday. (Oh, they're back as friends again.) Then we had a spontaneous karaoke night on Wednesday. It was fine, just like old times when we still had the occasional girls' night-out. Of course, she'd also told me about her recent breakup - and asked me to keep it "under wraps". So, I'll just write the edited version here.
Just as we've all suspected and feared. Even after she's told him that it was over, he's still stalking her. She had to change her number and ignore him online, because he started showing signs of psychopathic tendencies. He says nasty stuff to her online or on the phone, but when he shows up in the flesh - he's acting all sweet, as if trying his best to prove her that he's a changed man. (Yeah, right.*rolls eyes*)
Even Gigi's mother had sounded afraid when she talked to me on the phone, the moment Gigi told her we were hanging out:
"Please, take care of her for me. Beware of him."

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!