Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2008-08-07 - 9:32 p.m.

June 13, 2008

I woke up that morning to fix you some tea again, but then suddenly remembered that you were still in Jogjakarta.
It's going to be a long day," I thought gloomily, before heading off to work.

--- // ---

After work, I waited until it was quite late before texting Mbak Bina's cellphone. I asked her where I could meet that evening to pick you up.
She said Blok M Plaza again, so that's where I went to. That time, I didn't feel the need to hurry. But still, I got there too soon. So, I decided to have dinner first at Hoka Hoka Bento. The ebi furai was mighty delicious.
After that, I roamed around again in the plaza for a while. I guess I couldn't do that very long, because most of the other shops were about to close. It was almost nine anyway.
So I chose the only place that opens 24 hours. Where? McDonald's, of course. With SPICE! magazine and chocolate sundae, I sat there alone - waiting for you and her to come. Mbak Bina texted my cellphone again, telling me that you two were still on your way back from the airport by DAMRI bus. I replied, telling her that I'd be waiting at McDonald's.
At 9:30, I was bored. My chocolate sundae was already finished and I felt sleepy. Thankfully, I didn't have to work the next day.
At 9:45 or so, Mbak Bina texted my cellphone again - announcing that they'd arrived. I rushed outside to meet them, but then they already came in from another direction. I had to return after receiving another text from Mbak Bina again.
Predicting how tired you might've been from the trip, I had to resist my urge to hug you instantly. I just walked over to where you both were sitting. When you turned around, I could see red splotches on your fair skin. The obvious sunburn. Ouch.
"Guess what time I had to wake up this morning," you drawled. I could notice the dark circles under your eyes and Mbak Bina grinning next to you.
"Uh...six?"
"Nope. Guess again."
"Three."
"No."
"Five? Four??"
"Four-thirty, to be exact."
"Ah..." My laughter almost exploded, but Mbak Bina couldn't suppress hers any longer. God, no wonder you looked terribly exhausted! Poor you. You had to wake up way earlier than usual, because the tourist bus to Borobudur temple left at five from where you were staying.
We went our separate ways. Mbak Bina returned home alone, while you and I were getting on the same bus home. We didn't talk much, but it was okay. I knew you were tired. But at least, you still told me that you and Mbak Bina had seen Borobudur and Prambanan temples too. The expensive taxi ride from Solo to Jogjakarta. A night at Malioboro. Strange college students rallying under the rain, protesting the oil price.
You promised me that you'd show me the pictures soon. Still, you needed to go to the same 'net-bar' again before going home. You needed to check out a lot of stuff regarding your next flights and summer school in Beijing too. (And of course, I accompanied you.)
By the time we returned home, my parents were still awake. You still had enough strength to transfer your pictures from your camera to your laptop. After that, sleep was all you needed for the rest of that night.
Good night, Nick-ku.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!