Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-11-03 - 7:15 p.m.

Alright, starting tomorrow, I'll turn 25.:| Okay, so I'm talking about my own birthday here. But you know what? Don't worry. I don't need any celebration this year. It doesn't really matter. After all, age is (suuposed to be) just a number.
Isn't it?
But still, I'd truly appreciate it if --- starting tomorrow:

1.Nobody would ask me stupid questions about boyfriends. Why? Well, so what if I'm still single?:x Does it ever really hurt any of you, people? And please, don't you dare even call me too picky or careful, because I won't settle for less. I'd get one for myself, my sake, and my happiness --- not just because society expected me to and couldn't resist sticking their noses up to my business. Do I sound bitter about this? Hell, yeah!:x Why? Because usually, stupid questions about boyfriends lead me to insecurity...again. As if I'm not good enough on my own? I'm not going to fall for that same old trap all over again! Besides, if finding the right one (and NOT just anyone) were as easy as finding your favourite item in a department store, I'd do that long ago! (And I'm well-aware that I've already said this way too many times before.*rolls eyes*)

2.Nobody would ask me awfully irritating questions about...*huffs* marriage. Okay, fine. So I'm still single.:x Is that a really huge, serious problem for an Asian girl in her mid-twenties? Does that make me an 'old maid' already? Am I also (considered) 'out of the market', or so they often say about the status for girls in my situation? Are they trying to make me feel desperate here? No way!:x Besides, marriage is a BIG TIME COMMITMENT and RESPONSIBILITY I believe anyone sensible enough must seriously consider and carefully plan (and decide too). Yeah, I'm well-aware of the 'biological clock'. Tick, tock, tick...aargh, stop reminding me about that, okay?:x I already KNOW that! Grrrh! Don't even try to rush me into it. It's my decision too, not other people's.

I guess only those two I've found as quite disturbing ever since I turned 21.:( You see, Mom actually has been slightly obsessed with wanting her only two daughters (yup, my sister and me:|) to get married early --- at least sometime between the age of 21-24.:P Since she's 1.5 years older than me, my sister gets to feel the bigger pressure (especially since --- one by one --- all her old friends have already tied the knots and even had their own babies!)
Me? Call me naive, but I choose to let things flow naturally and not by force. Just because I've been quite irritated by those two topics they've kept asking me, that doesn't mean I don't want any of them. I do. I'm not a hypocrite, I need those two. I think about those stuff too.
I just don't want to be pressured, that's all.:| Why can't they all see that? Why won't they understand me, or at least just try to see it my way? Their stupid questions aren't helping at all! If so, then why won't they just shut up and leave me alone? Because everytime they ask me both 'topics' and my answer is only a flat 'no', they'll ask:"Why?" or even "How come?" Personally, I feel that those extra two questions are merely gentler versions of: "Is something seriously going wrong with your pretty little head, sweetie?"
*scoffs* I'll have no choice but to have to visit the relatives tomorrow night with my family.:| I must toughen myself up, in case the old ladies like the grandmas, the aunts, and even the nosy distant cousins (don't get me wrong, though --- because I still care about these people) will come up with...you-know-what.*rolls eyes* Probably just grinning like a total idiot most of the time will help...even just a bit.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!