Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2006-07-21 - 7:05 p.m.

I still feel unwell today, but I'm glad no spots show up.:| But, just in case, I took an effervescent tablet today only to keep me fit. I don't want to get sick, because it'll only weaken me more. I don't need that these days. That's why I refuse to give in. Hell, no!:x
It's been a while since the last time I checked The White Roses' mailing list. I heard an extremely fundamental party in my country's government was seriously planning to legalize a women's only train-cart (I don't know if I say it right, but if it's incorrect --- sorry.*blushes*) At first, it may sound like a genuine solution to prevent crimes from happening to women. But if we mya take a closer, analytical look --- their true intention is to isolate women from the world and everything else (and this is just their first step, I'm so NOT kidding here!), because...these chauvinists still believe that women are the main cause for men to commit crimes and other sinful things. Oh, yeah. Believe me, I know.
And they're NOT solving a goddamned thing here.:x They're only spreading misogynicism even more. I mean, seriously --- why are my kind here suddenly getting such treatments as if we're all having a dangerous, highly contagious disease? If they're really serious about reducing crimes against their female citizens, then why aren't they ever arresting the bad guys who want to rob the women or just get their filthy hands on my kind in every goddamned public transportation here? Or, let's discuss a much, simpler thing. Why are the people who work in running the public transportations allowing over capacity of passengers in? That happens a lot in my country, you know, and they still don't take it seriously --- even after lots of harrassment cases that happened to women, robbery, and even deadly accidents because of that. I mean, people are squeezed against each other in buses and trains, and that's already more than enough for an acute claustrophobic like me can take.:( All seats are always taken (unless if you're smart enough to wait for an empty one and fight a little bit to get one), and no men are gentlemen enough to stand up and give it to --- let's say, an old lady carrying her groceries or even a pregnant woman! Trust me, I'm not joking about this. True gentlemen are like rare species closer to extinction here.
If sexual harrassment happens either in a bus or a train, no one takes it that seriously here.:'-( They barely do a damn thing to stop it. Most male passengers often act as if it's an everyday normalcy, while the female passengers mostly choose to play safe because they're scared of being the next bullying targets. They tend to look away and just pretend it's not happening right there and then, and believe it won't ever happen to them. Sadly, some narrow-minded, holier-than-thou women are even justifying it by thinking, "No wonder she gets hassled. Look what that bitch is wearing."
*scoffs* Yeah, right. *rolls eyes* I wear regular blouse or shirts and still get harrassed.:x
The last time I used the train was back in senior college year. That late afternoon, I visited my tutor for the Final Production's Assignment in Institut Kesenian Jakarta (Jakarta's Institute of Art), Cikini, North Jakarta. From University of Indonesia, Depok, I'd taken a train with my college best friend CB --- but returned alone after consulting the assignment there. It was sometime around six pm, the after-office hours. I'd taken the same train back, but...*sighs* it was overly crowded.:( I'd gotten pushed around and squeezed in the middle. I swear to you, that night I wished I'd been rich enough to drive my own car (although I still suck at driving...lol...*blushes*). Or ride my own motorcycle. I was clearly hyperventilating and close to fainting, but I'd forced myself to stay alert in that earthly hell --- because I didn't want to get robbed. Unfortunately, a lecherous creep was obviously trying to grope me, his hand reaching forward from a possible gap between heads. I quickly slapped his filthy hand away, accidentally hitting another man's face nearby. When the poor, unwilling victim noticed whom I'd directed my furious stare at, he'd kindly blocked that creep with his frame and given me an understanding smile. I smiled back at him and said, "Thanks."
And I'm also sorry your face got hit too. I still thank God for you, dear kind stranger.:)
This morning, as I was waiting for my bus in the slum area called Cipulir, another lecherous creep was grinning obscenely at me as he inched closer. I just stood my ground and flashed him an angry look.
Just leave me alone, you pathetic pervert. Don't you even dare mess with me or you'll damn well be sorry!
I felt relieved when my bus stopped by and I quickly hopped in.:( What a jerk.*rolls eyes*
I'm genuinely tempted to try moving to Malaysia. My niece Mira just graduated from high-school and is seriously planning to continue studying there. She even lent me a handbook, in case I could go with her too and split the living cost --- so it wouldn't be too expensive.
Anywhere much safer, that is --- safer than my own home.
It's pretty sad and depressing, isn't it?:(

The Depressed Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!