Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2016-03-04 - 5:44 p.m.

How did it feel to have started working out again after what seemed like ages? Even when you're not exactly a couch potato, that has taken quite much in you.

I first got to know about OBR (One Billion Rising) last year, when one of my best friends hosted the event. He'd sent an open invitation on the Whatsapp group we're both in.

Of course, I ended up attending it at Taman Ismail Marzuki that Saturday night.

Long story short, the event was amazing. I was enchanted by their dance performance that I'd decided to take part in it too, next time.

However, it was quite a challenge to practise more often before the D-Day (or, should I say - V-Day or Valentine's Day, since the event was also held on February 14.) My schedule was quite busy, so I could only attend the Thursday rehearsals.

Thankfully, the dance routine wasn't too difficult. You didn't have to be a pro, an athlete, or both. The steps and movements were easy to follow and memorise.

Then, how was the event? Despite the long, downpour from the sky, the show had to go on. The problem? The slippery floor at the venue, caused by the rain. We had to wait for the rain to ease down a bit before carrying on with the event.

Of course, I ended up taking off my trainers for quite the whole night - but still, I'd almost tripped over during the dance. It was a good thing that I didn't end up creating a domino effect with the other dancers around me, or it would've been quite a blooper moment.

All in all, I had a great night. I suppose we all did. The musicians and theatrical performers were awesome too.

What had struck me rather speechless was The V-Monologue. (No, not Valentine's Day Monologue - but Vagina Monologue.) Watch it with an open mind and you won't be grossed-out. It was an eye-opener. Women are much more. None of us should ever be treated as mere objects. No more excuses, no more abuses.

Would I like to participate again next year? Yes, hopefully.

R.

Writer@work

(Jakarta, 15/2/2016 - 10:04 am)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!