Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2017-08-21 - 5:15 a.m.

Are we in the era of escalating vanity?
So many strike a pose
It’s where anything goes
Once or twice ain’t enough
There’s always that extra dose

Like, selfies and Photoshop
Online purchases ‘til you drop
It’s a start, but you won’t stop
No audience and you will sob

Is this the era of escalating vanity?
Let’s be honest: we want the whole world to see
How good or bad our lives can be
We often make each other feel ugly
Our silent screams say: “Me! Me! ME!!”

Has the digital life stolen
All the oxygen
From our brains
Distorted our common sense?
I mean, what’s with the arguing with strangers for some sick satisfaction,
A mental bloodsport called trolling,
Consistent bullying,
Until souls are drained within,
Derailed from their tracks,
Like trains on an accident?
Oh, what a pain!

If this is the era of escalating vanity,
Then God, help me
How do I survive this endless spin
Without feeling dizzy
And eventually going crazy?

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!