Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2018-08-13 - 7:53 a.m.

Hello, stranger
I love your smile
like you do my poetry
but why look so troubled?

I was just expressing my vile
instead of staying in denial
but you disagree
You want a better version of me

“We know people lie.
They hurt and make us cry,”
you say as we sit down for a while.
“I know you’re angry.
You almost scare me.”

“Then what do you want?”
I ask
with an eyebrow raised.

“Bring your joy next time around.
I know you can.
If you may, fake one,”
is all his next statement.

How do I tell him
that I’m done pretending
I’m always happy
like they always want me to be?

Dear stranger,
you’re looking at a tired poser
I know you mean well,
but your request feels like a torture

As usual,
I always know what they want
With a smile,
I give him another same lie:

“I’ll try.”

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!