Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2018-07-01 - 11:57 p.m.

I have to keep reminding myself: There are still worse heartbreaks than just breaking up or being cheated on. It’s always much closer than we often remember. Hopefully, we’re also not the ones taking them for granted.

In short, I remember telling my two good friends that it wasn’t just some guy who could break my heart. Anyone can do that and walk away without guilt nor remorse. No sweat, I’ll still bounce back for another day.

It’s the lives of our loved ones at home on the line.

When we were little kids, we thought our parents were always strong, especially for us. They were like our personal superheroes sent by God. Without them, what could we do? Where would we have been?

Excluding the abusive parents who either abandon or definitely endanger the lives and well-being of their young, ours are two ordinary people doing great things together. They don’t just raise us, making sure we’re alive and well.

They’re shaping this society. It’s the toughest job in the world. They have to be ready to give all of them for their children. Not many can do this right and hopefully plenty are doing it well. Because even if the kids grow up to be jerks, brats, or cheaters by personal choice – their parents still take the fall. I know it’s unfair, but that’s how this society works.

Parenting requires so many sacrifices. No manuals and most of the time, they just dive in to see how it works. One of the many sacrifices is their own health and well-being.

No one is ready when it’s their turn to become more vulnerable, either with old age, sickness, or both. We imagine that they’ll always be okay, with their smiles and grey hair. They’ll always shine in good health despite the wrinkles on their faces, as they greet us and the little ones they call ‘grandchildren’.

Love is best tested and shown not in good times, but often the opposite. Taking care of your loved ones – especially your ailing parents – is a noble job. Sometimes that requires giving up the better part of your life just to be with them.

The kids willingly to do so are their parents’ greatest blessings in their twilight years. If you are one of them, I salute you. I’m thinking of you and praying for you. I’m not saying it’s going to be easy, but it’s definitely worth it. They’re yours after all, like you’re theirs.

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!