Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-11-01 - 12:45 p.m.

They think I'm rude. So what?

I don't see what the big deal is. Well, just like they refuse to see what my deal is. They think I'm only making it up, that I'm too sensitive.

That I'm just being such a girl, as if it's a bad thing.

They say it's just how the world goes - and that I have to accept it as it is. Shut up and deal with it. This is real life.

Well, it doesn't mean that I have to put up with everything without a fight. I mean, just because this has been going on for centuries doesn't make this right - or should go on.

"Smile for me, dear. You look much better that way."

"Hey, sexy! Where are you heading?"

"Hey, beautiful. Come over here for a while."

Excuse me? Who the hell do they think they are? Who are they to tell me to smile at them?

I don't know them; they don't know me. I owe them nothing, not even an apology.

Seriously, why won't they just leave me - or any other woman turning up alone in front of them, especially at night - alone? I mean, don't they have anything better to do?

"Fine, if you prefer looking like an ugly witch!"

"My mistake; you ain't that sexy. In fact, you look more like a dyke!"

"You think you're way too good for us, bitch? Piss off!"

I know what people say: just ignore them. Pathetic losers always try to get your attention that way - and end up spitting curses at you once their ego is bruised, all because you refuse to take their bait. That's life.

Ignore them? Well, just because they feel entitled to do whatever the hell they want doesn't make it right. It's not okay, this has got to stop!

Either way, I can never really win. Show them a bit of friendliness in you - and they think they've already won you over. An experience, no matter how awful, is still the best teacher. The scars under your shirt have always been the most vivid reminder.

"There are still good guys out there."

I know. I'm always sad when anyone reminds me of that. Unfortunately, these jerks just have to exist. What for? As extreme comparisons?

I only want to protect myself, but they think I'm rude. So?

Whatever.

R.

(Jakarta, 31/10/2014 - from The Couchsurfing Writers' Club Meeting @Anomali Cafe, Setiabudi One, 8:00 - 11:00 pm. The topic: an adjective that starts with the first letter of your nickname.)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!