Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-09-27 - 8:16 p.m.

I wish I could just come up and talk to you there. You always sit by the window, ordering black coffee. You often gaze outside, doing nothing else. You look like you're waiting for someone.

Obviously, you are. You're waiting for her.

I've seen you with her. You two used to frequent this small diner. You looked so in love, gazing at each other and sharing meals. There was always that light in your eyes. She's so beautiful, eh? I couldn't agree more. Any normal guy out there would move a mountain just to go out with her.

Even if I were jealous, that would be absurd. I mean, who am I? We don't even know each other. I can't just walk up to you and say hi, introducing myself.

--- // ---

I wish I could just come up and talk to you there. You always sit by the window, ordering black coffee. You often gaze outside, doing nothing else. You look like you're waiting for someone.

Her.

I've seen her. Here's the advantage of what I do: I get to remember familiar faces. I don't always have to talk to them, but I do pay attention. I have a good, photographic memory.

I've seen her, but not here. It was during my day-off. She was at the mall, but not with you. You don't have a beard and dress like a rock musician. You're the preppy-looking type.

And that guy had kissed her at the parking lot...

--- // ---

I wish I could just come up and talk to you there. You're sitting by the window tonight with the black coffee you've ordered on the table. The coffee's gone cold by now. You've left it there untouched. You're gazing outside, with that dying light inside your eyes.

She's not coming, but you're still waiting. You could just go home, but you still wait until we're closed. As always.

How do I get to chase your blues away? I wish I had the guts to just go there and talk to you, but we don't even know each other.

I only know that you like black coffee, because that's what you order everytime you're here - even when you were still with her back then. That's what I serve you, in exchange for your money...and your smile at me...

R.

(Jakarta, 25/9/2014 - The Couchsurfing Writers' Club Meeting, Anomali Cafe, Setiabudi One from 8:00 - 11:00 pm. Theme: "Restaurant / coffee-shop / eatery.")

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!