Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-09-13 - 7:18 a.m.

Was this how Cole Porter felt when he wrote that song?
I don't know much.
As usual, I could be wrong.
I only know that I feel a lot.

I know this is not a war-time.
The present still allows us a safe walk outside,
despite this city being full of crimes
and how they still threaten women to run and hide.

I keep hearing that song
here inside my head.
It goes on and on,
and I find myself loving it, even when it's driving me mad.

Still, I will gaze up at your steel blue eyes,
because I know I don't have much time anymore.
I'll hide these silent tears behind my smile,
before you turn around again and walk out that door.

Maybe it's not quite accurate,
but I sort of could tell why Cole Porter wrote that song.
It's the feeling that I get,
sorrow hidden and gone unexpressed for too long.

I know I'm still fully alive,
yet it feels like bit by bit - my spirit slowly dies
everytime we say goodbye...

R.

(Jakarta, 12/9/2014 - 10:30 pm)

http://www.jazzstandards.com/compositions-2/evrytimewesaygoodbye.htm

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!