Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-02-20 - 3:37 p.m.

Here I go again. I'm in transition.

I've finally come up to my boss and let her know about my final decision. She didn't say much, though, but just good luck and hopefully I'd enjoy the job more and be successful there.

In the end, she just let me go and keep my Saturday teaching hours instead. Not much she can do, eh? I only work there part-time.

I'll be okay. Surprisingly, I hardly feel any regrets. Of course, I'm going to miss seeing some of my colleagues at work everyday. (Like Tony B. and D., for sure.)

But I'm still going to be around on Saturdays. I'll still be seeing them, although perhaps not all the time.

Mas has finally come to this final decision:

She's letting me go. Since I'll be working full-time on weekdays (Monday - Friday, 8:00 - 5:00 / 9:00 - 6:00), I need to live nearby. (My Saturday teaching schedule will be the usual 8:00 - 5:15. I know it's crazy.)

The traffic's really bad. Ma doesn't have the heart to see me go back and forth, looking exhausted and annoyed, anymore. It's time for me to also start finding my own place to live.

At last, I'm on my way to my (hopefully) more independent life.

Some people think that I won't (be able to) make it. Well, now they can see. It's about damn time that I proved them all wrong!

Or I can just ignore them all and move on.

How did Tony B. take my news? He was okay, I guess. He was amazingly supportive, smiling and holding my hand.

"Congrats. I'm happy for you."

"Thanks."

"Just what you need, eh?"

I smiled, but inside I felt...sad. I think Tony B. could tell, because he was still holding my hand. His hand was soothingly warm.

"Yeah," I had to admit as I gazed into his pale, smoky blue eyes. There was a trace of sadness he couldn't hide, so I had to ask: "Are you guys gonna be okay?"

"Yeah." Tony B. smiled and nodded. I guess he didn't want me to feel bad or guilty. "I'm sure she'll tell me this."

"Oh, I've already told her," I said quickly, referring to our boss. "I just want to let you know first before she will."

"That's alright." He smiled encouragingly as he gently patted my hand. "By the way, is your gum still in pain?"

"I'm okay." My eyes went wide as he gave me a chocolate-topped cronut.

"For you," said Tony B. earnestly. "You helped me cover for Rafiq last Saturday."

"Oh." Okay, now I felt really touched. "Thank you."

He just smiled his usual sweet, comforting smile. "Enjoy."

When I returned to my cubicle, I had to fight back my tears. He's so kind to me. He's already like a father figure I've missed. I know that we can still see each other at work every Saturday - or maybe hang out sometime after and on Sundays.

But it won't be the same.

Still, I have to stop being so mushy about all this. I've got to stick to my decision and just see how this goes. See where this whole thing will lead me to.

Hopefully it's also something good...or even better.

D. the lovely baby brother at work is amazingly supportive as well. He joked: "Don't go. Who am I going to annoy at work if you're not around anymore?"

I hugged his towering frame and he hugged me back.

"You can still annoy me every Saturday, no worries."

Then we both laughed.

Well, it was easier than I'd thought. Now I have to keep hunting for a rented (should be nice and affordable too) place to live.

First things first.

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!