Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2014-01-06 - 2:32 p.m.

Sometimes FB feels like a time machine for one's mind eye. We look at our old posts and simply go back in time. Some of us would probably think: "Whoa, that was a real blast!" or "What was I thinking when I wrote/posted that?"

I guess it's the same with blog entries, Twitter timelines, and even your old-fashioned diaries and photo albums.

I don't know why I suddenly thought of that. Probably I've just been snapped by reality that, once again, time flies. It does, in the blink of an eye. I mean, look at my friend Alex's one-year-old daughter Aisha's picture on FB. A year ago, her father and I talked over beers one night before she was born. It was the jittery of being the first-time dad. His hopes and fears.

His wish for me to be her female mentor on life someday. (I've already told him no promises, but I can only try. I mean, we never really know what lies ahead.)

Then, when she was born, Alex was so happy. He'd invited some people over for another beer night at the same place we'd gone to for that talk. Arikacoustic - the acoustic jazz band my brother manages - was performing. (Alex told me that he loved their cover version of Oasis'"Wonderwall".) My brother had been there too; the band consists of his friends. Stu had had a crush on Lika the singer until I told him that she'd already gotten a boyfriend - and he was present that night. ("NOOO!!!" he'd bellowed drunkenly.)

Then I accepted Alex's Irish friend Michael's challenge to sing with Arikacoustic that night. He'd requested two songs I sang right there on the spot - Blind Melon's "No Rain" and Jason Mraz' "I'm Yours".

Michael was so impressed with me that night that he hugged me tightly and kissed me hard on my forehead.

Wow. I still remember that as if it was yesterday.

Hmm, what else?

Take a look at my baby niece Gira. Long ago, she hadn't even existed. Now she's here, almost a year old. She's started enjoying her first baby steps with that cute smile on her face. (Awww!)

A lot of things have happened. People come and go. Some stay, some leave. Some return, others simply disappear. Sometimes you're just way too busy, tired, or even both - to even manage or wonder why. That's just life. You can't always please everyone - just as much as you can't always keep them with you.

Do I sound cold and bitter? Hollow, perhaps? No idea. All I know is that I'm afraid of feeling too much about anything.

Time flies. Who's going to come and go now? Should I always prepare myself for that?

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!