Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-08-14 - 8:43 p.m.

How does it feel to be back at work after the holiday?

Weird. It doesn�t matter whether the holiday is short or long. I still have to have an adjustment period. I don�t know about you people. Maybe it�s just me.

I finished reading �The Master and Margarita� last holiday. Tony B. seemed impressed when I returned it to him and told him how much I�d enjoyed reading it and laughing about Behemoth the black cat. He�s lending me more books now. It�s been like that for quite some time. He always wants to know what I think after reading. Reading is my temporary escape from reality.

There�s a new teacher at work. His name�s Mark and he�s from Holland. He has a dazzling smile. Not only that, but he seems to be the kind of guy that you really want to talk to. (Someone with a warm personality, I suppose?) I�m not playing nice or being flirtatious. I don�t openly compliment guys a lot. (It�s my silly pride, I guess.) Once I do that, I�m for real. I don�t know how to pretend unless I�m on stage like I did with my high school theatre club, hehe.

When Tony B. told Mark that I�m also a freelance writer, I suddenly remembered my long-term goals again. Last holiday, I finished a poem and a short story. (I�m submitting that story for a contest soon.) Right now, I�m working on a novelet (novella?)

Hmm, what else? There�s a writing project coming next month. One of the biggest publishers in Jakarta is running it, because they�re looking for new, potential writers. I�ve already submitted my writing sample. If they like it, they�ll call me for an interview. If they think I�m one of the promising talents, they�ll sign me up for their writing boot-camp.

Of course, I�ll also be getting my work published and paid after that. Hopefully, I�ll get a contract for more books to come. It�ll even be more wonderful if they sell a lot...

Faith, effort, patience, and support. Those are the only things I rely on to these days.

I�ve also already signed up for another writing workshop in October. It�ll be held in Anyer, Banten. I miss going to beaches...

Oh, well. October is still a long way...

Now, what lies ahead?

Stu�s gone back to work this week after his diving course. He didn�t look too happy, so he must have had a fantastic holiday. Lucky dude...

And I�m surely going to miss him when he leaves next month. He�ll still be working in South Jakarta, I know, but it won�t feel the same.

I can�t believe my brother The Sweet Prince is turning 30 this week. Time flies, eh? His birthday is this Saturday, which is also Independence Day.

It�s also a holiday. The Sweet Prince is going to hang out with his buddies, while I�m going to have another karaoke session with mine.

No problem.

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!