Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-06-10 - 10:15 p.m.

I got a free novel from Story Magazine. They'd published my flash fiction called "Bullies". Not bad, eh? It's my third work there - after a poem and a non-fiction. I know that they don't always pay the writers with money, but gaining acknowledgement is also important.

The same thing with other magazines, though.First, I have to get my three writings published, no matter how long it takes. No matter what.

After that? I'll just keep on writing and sending them, in hope that they too like them and begin to feel more familiar with my work. Along the way, I'm sure some serious publishers out there will start taking a real interest in what I write. I mean, who knows?

That's what I've been doing exactly lately. I'm catching up with my dreams. According to some people, I'm being unrealistic. (That's how they all perceive daydreamers at first, eh?) I mean, I get it. My job is fine now (despite the 'shady' management.) I'm 31. They say I should start taking life much more seriously. Stop playing around. (As if I did that often.) Start thinking about settling down, having a job security.

Getting married.

Ha-ha, what a joke! Ain't society a grand? They claim to respect your privacy, appreciate who you are, and acknowledge different personalities. Be yourself, they often tell you.

Yet at the same time, they also expect you to be just like everybody else. Do what most normal, common people do. Be reasonable. Be realistic. Give up your ridiculous and impossible daydreams and start doing what's real. Pick the safest options and you shall live in peace.

Then what? Living the rest of your life a mere zombie, simply following the typical paths? Burying your head in a comfort zone, no questions asked? Acting like your true passion never existed?

I could do that, but then...would I be happy? Would that be (good) enough for me?

Dini - one of T's friends we'd met in Bali last year - told T just how creative and talented I was. She said that it shouldn't go to waste.

Do you know what?

I'm seriously pursuing that this year. No more delays, no hesitations, no second thoughts.

Hopefully I'll gain true success from writing. Amen.

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!