Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-01-18 - 9:47 p.m.

I was supposed to go to work last Thursday. Although this Friday seemed fine, I had no teaching schedule. I'm also not working tomorrow, because the school is closed to avoid the possibility of people having to deal with the second wave of massive flood.

There isn't much that I can do now. The nature has once again warned us; another serious wake-up call way too many times. Haven't we all learned, or have we chosen to succumb to apathy or ignorance - or even both?

I'm not going to talk about what's already on the news everywhere. I'm not going to mention about how I feel for the most unfortunate victims out there. Why? As much as I sympathize with them, I can never really say that I know how they feel - or what they're going through now. That would be a lie. Despite the huge flood, I'm okay. So is my family, thank God.

Still, I am concerned.

Is Jakarta a future 'Atlantis' in the making? Do we want that to happen? What are we to do then?

R.

http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/home/death-toll-from-jakarta-floods-rises-to-15-victims-report-illnesses/566238

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!