Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2013-01-03 - 6:01 p.m.

"I'm learning to walk again...I believe I've waited long enough...Where do I begin?"

("The Walk" by.Foo Fighters)

Believe it or not, I sometimes can go totally random.

One early morning after I listened to that song I've mentioned above, I decided to do something out of the ordinary. I put on my trainers and started my very first light workout in years. It was barely six in the morning anyway, and I was still on holiday.

I returned home when I was sweaty enough. It didn't take long, because it started raining after a block away from home. Then again, it was much better than nothing. I've never been an athlete and probably never will be athletic-looking anyway. It's never in my genes.

Believe it or not, I didn't put that as part of my new year resolutions. In fact, I no longer have mine. Besides, mine has always been rather short and realistic since I was 21. I mean, what's the point in creating such a huge, long list of it for the next 365 days of our lives, only to realize later that we can barely fulfill just the quarter bit of it? I don't mean to sound pessimistic already, but why not do that everyday - bit by bit? Why not put that into real action soon - as in NOW?

Perhaps there's an element most of us miss whenever we make a resolution. We say we want and need a lot of things in life, but for what, exactly? Even if we do have reasons behind them all, are they really solid - as in sensible and realistic?

For example, I know that some of us are putting 'getting married this year' as part of the resolution. That's alright, if you have already got someone special who's willing to spend the rest of their lives with you. What happens if you're still single? Are you going to start hunting for 'the potential one'? What happens if you don't find them soon enough?

What if the one you're currently dating is not ready - nor even looking for something that serious? Are you going to push them into tying the knot with you right away (of course, with the risk of scaring them off!) or are you going to find someone else who are more willing?

And what about any of us who still have a serious faith crisis with love? Are we ready to open up our hearts again? For this year, how many of us who are thinking about doing something serious and more challenging - for the sake of our career progress? Anything else?

I don't really know why I started thinking of all that during my morning workout. They say taking the first step is always the most difficult thing, but once you do - all is good.

All I know is that, for my morning workout, I'd like to start making it my new, regular habit. I know I'll never have that 'perfect figure' - according to the media standard. (If that ever happened - especially at this age of 31 - then that would be a miracle for me.)

Still, I have many solid reasons to start doing it more often, though. There will always be unsupportive skeptics who say:"Let's see how long she'll last with this." This time,I prefer listening to my own body. For the past couple of years, my health has been rather deteriorating. Last year I passed out at work due to exhaustion that they had to use one of the chairs with wheels to carry me out - and later banned me from work until I finally got better. My constant sneezing and coughing - resulting from genetically-inherited allergy - have worried some people that one of my best friends handed me a pack of Strepsils.

Most importantly, having seen your sixty-five-year-old father battle with the stroke everyday has been the most serious wake-up call. You share half of his DNA but no, you don't want to end up like him.

I hope nothing ever stops me after my first trial of workout. If it happens, please remind me about the skeptics who think I'm the same old quitter!

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!