Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-11-11 - 7:33 p.m.

At last, I turned 31 last November 4. Yay! Happy birthday to me.

How does it feel for me to be this...uh,'old'? Hmm, nothing special. In fact, it's not as bad as I dreaded earlier. I mean, up to now, I'm still single. So what? Does that mean I should start feeling all lonely and miserable? Should I start freaking out with the fact that my love-life is just nonexistent at the moment? No husband, not even a boyfriend - while most women my age in Jakarta are either strolling with their little ones at the mall - or perhaps expecting their third or fourth on the way?

My answer would definitely be simple:

No. Way.

Some people out there might think I'm weird, arrogant (as if I don't need anyone in my life), or just in complete denial. Fine. Have it their way, as always. This is my life anyway.

One of my friends Mz.D once stated this:

"Why can't I be enjoying my life as it is, just because I'm single?"

Cheers to that!

Thankfully, I'm not Bridget Jones. (Yes, I've read and watched it - just for kicks!) I don't have an overly-worried mother desperately trying to set me up with any possible suitor she might come across. (At least not anymore, thank God!) I don't have two guys fighting over me. Not even one. (Like I've said, no husband...not even a boyfriend.)

I don't write a journal to sort out my love life, career, smoking habit, or even...weight problems. I write for the sake of it.

In fact, I feel like anticipating more interesting possibilities that lay ahead. I mean, what sort of adventures are out there for me? That's what I think about more often these days.

Of course, there'll always be the bitter, insecure ones who think I'm such an old maid. Well, if they ever say such things - especially right to my face - here's what I'll simply tell them:

"If you're not happy with your life, don't start raining on other people's parade."

Sorry, I just despise bullies. In fact, I have categorized that awful name-calling as 'social-bullying'. Why? That's just spiteful. Making someone feel guilty and insecure over something they haven't got yet is mean. If a woman isn't mentally-strong enough with that, she might possibly:a)end up feeling ugly, worthless, and self-conscious;b)starts dating any guy available for the sake of NOT being (seen mostly) alone;c)worse, starts playing fire with another woman's man;d)all of the scary things previously mentioned.

Spooky...

I know that people always have choices, so this is what I usually tell the big mouths off:

"You have a choice to just shut up, leave the happily single women alone, and let them be just the way they are. You'd better take that choice, thank you very much."

Last but not least, if anyone ever tries to rain on my parade, I still have a special umbrella called: confidence.

Cheers!

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!