Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-06-22 - 8:05 p.m.

(11/6/2012):

I woke up with a silent groan:

Is this the last day already?:( I don't want to go home...:'-(

T was grinning at me.

"Hey, how are you feeling?"

"Weird." I got up and sat on the bed, with my curls tangled up like a lion's mane. After a few seconds, I couldn't suppress a grin spread across my face. Boy, did we have a blast!:D

The last breakfast at the hotel was really nice.:) I felt happy, but also sad. I didn't feel like going home yet. I still wanted to stay. I wanted to be happy like that again.

*deep sigh*

Oh, well. I'll do something about it. Eventually...

T had forgotten to give his cookies to Omar, Cindy, and Yohan. So, we ended up spending the last day catching up with each of them.*giggles* First, we went to Cindy's office. She was surprised to see me coming in and again so soon, but was glad that we came. She happily accepted the cookies.:D

Next step was De Ja Vu Kitchen in Kuta. Omar wasn't there at work, so T handed the cookies to the staff with a note to Omar. We also had lunch there. I ordered risotto and he had salmon steak.

After that, we went to the tattoo parlour. (It was my crazy idea, btw.:p) T wanted me to choose a design for him from the displayed pictures on the wall, but I had my own idea for my tattoo.

It was, of course, a scorpion.:p My star sign. No, they weren't permanent. They were temporary.

While the artist was working on T's tattoo on the back of his neck, the artist's friend came into the parlour. He looked at T and me and then asked me the question I'd been suspecting would come:

"Suaminya, Mbak?"(Your husband, Miss?)

"Bukan."(No.) I smiled and shook my head, wanting to laugh. Since T can also understand my language (well, even just a bit), I could see his big evil grin. Grrh!:p

"Pacar?"(Boyfriend?)

"Bukan."(No.)

"TTM*?"(FWB*?)

(*TTM / Teman Tapi Mesra = FWB / Friends With Benefits)

"Lebih bukan lagi!"(Not even that!) I finally cracked up laughing. Well, it wasn't as bad as the night before at the gay bar. One of the guys who'd been flirting with T - who'd also talked to me while I was dancing - looked at me curiously and asked T:"Is she your girlfriend?"

:O:!!xD I mean, come on. Like, seriously?

Okay, so that dude at the tattoo parlour tried to get my number.:P When he learned that both T and I taught English, he said to me:"Aku mau belajar bahasa Inggris sama Mbak." (I want to learn English from you.)

"Lha, kan ada tempat kursus di sekitar sini!"(There's a foreign language school around here!) I reasoned. He laughed too, realizing just how corny his effort was.

"Ngerti, deh. Mbak nggak mau diganggu." (I get it. You don't want to be disturbed.) It was a good thing that he could take the hint lightly. (I know some guys can be so bloody annoying.) Nice try, but I wasn't interested. I know I'm single, but I'm not easy.:p*sneers*

Then that dude turned to T and grinned. He asked him:"Are you jealous?"

"No." T grinned back. Our eyes met briefly, his hazel ones twinkling with amusement.

"Ah, you must be angry, then."

"No, no, no." This time, T shook his head and laughed. Then the dude grabbed an acoustic guitar and started playing and singing. It was Green Day's "Time Of Your Life". He had a nice singing voice, btw.:)

When he realized that I was singing along with him, he smiled. (Well, at least my rejection earlier didn't hurt him too bad.) Those dudes at the tattoo parlour (well, except T, of course) were amazed that a girl like me fancied rock songs and musicians as well.:p Ha! Talk about gender assumptions and stereotyping...

"Do you know this song?" he asked when he started another intro. I smiled and nodded.

"Stranger By The Day from Shades Apart."

The next thing I knew, we were singing a duet on that song.:D It was really fun. I could feel myself beaming and grinning, despite the sad lyrics of the song.:p I saw T smiling at me and felt the warmth inside my heart.

T, my best friend.:'-) My big brother. My sanctuary when reality's being tough on me...

I love you, buddy. Abangku, thank you for this.

After the song was done, T's tattoo was finished. It was time to get my scorpion on my left arm. The dude started another number by Green Day called "21 Guns". I love that song too, but he didn't finish it this time because he had to leave. He put the guitar down, got up to shake our hands, and then waved goodbye as he walked out the door.

"Thanks for the duet!" I called out brightly.

After that, T and I were heading to...Dreamland Beach.:D Finally, a chance to really swim in the ocean. Again, some locals thought we were husband and wife.xD LOL!! Hilarious.

The currents were really strong and the waves were scarily huge. No joke.:|

Everything was fine until something seriously nightmarish happened. I almost didn't make it.

I was following T a bit too far into the water. He's much taller and a more experienced swimmer than I am, so it was not much of a problem for him. We were collapsing on the sand after the first wave, giggling. then suddenly, another wave came and I felt my legs being dragged into a quicksand-like underneath the water. I frantically reached out for T's hands. He quickly grabbed mine and tried pulling me back to the shore, but the currents were very strong that he got dragged down with me instead. Panic and fear were palpable in his hazel eyes as I felt the salty water trying to swallow me whole.

"HELP ME!" I screamed in terror and choked on the water. I realized that I kept getting him dragged, so I forced to let one of my hands go and frantically searched for something solid and still under the water. (A stupid move, I know, but I'd been panic-stricken.) My mind was racing wildly. One of my frantic thoughts was:

If it's my time, please just take me. Not him too...

No, he didn't let me go. I sensed that he refused to give up on me, so I willed myself back to fight for my life again.

I found my strength to get back on my feet again and threw myself towards him in full force. He didn't let go of my hand until we were safely back on the shore. We were panting.

"Whoa," I breathed. "That was scary."

"Indeed," he agreed breathlessly. I could see that he was still shaken that I felt the need to cheer him up again.

"I've got to do this more often," I joked drily. His laughter was a bit strained.

"Glad you enjoyed it," he said.

We were lying on the benches after that, watching the sunset. I put my froggy-like shades on and turned to him. "Thanks."

"For what?"

"For being the knight." I grinned as I extended my right hand to him. Then I shrugged at the sea in front of us. "For saving my life."

"Anytime, love." He took my hand and smiled warmly. "I know you'd do the same for me."

Well, I hope that time never comes, because I'm not sure I'll be strong enough to do the same.*shudders*

After taking pictures, we went to the shower rooms (separately, of course!:P) and had a shower. It was pretty hard to wash all the sands off of me, especially after I'd almost been completely engulfed by the waves. I changed into dry clothes and came out of the room.

It was already dark by the time we were back on the road again. We stopped by at Ayana Hotel for a while to drop some cookies for Yohan. T parked the car and asked me to wait in there, because he wouldn't be long. I nodded and he hurried out with the cookies.

To my surprise, he came back minutes later with...Yohan!:D I got out of the car and ran to give him a hug. After the small talk, he thanked T for the cookies and we said goodbye. T and I got into the car and left.

On our way to the airport, I sent messages to the guy who hired us the car about the drop point. Our flight back to Jakarta was pretty late, but we got there a bit too early. After we gave the car back to the guy, we decided to hang out somewhere at the airport for dinner.

I remembered that I had to charge my phone. Luckily, the staff there allowed me to use the last circuit available. Then he had to leave, but at least I could still watch my phone while eating dinner and talking to T.

When the blinking light on my phone turned green, I snatched it off and turned it on. My phone was fully charged.

After that, T was charging his and went around for a while. The staff came back and was surprised to see a different phone on his desk. He turned to me.

"Ma'am, is this your phone too?" he asked. When I shook my head and pointed at T _ who was still in sight - he quickly assumed, "Ah, your husband's!"

LOL!!xD*big evil grin*

I nodded weakly with a strangled grin. Uh, yeah. Not quite, but I understand why you assumed him as such.:p

The flight home felt shorter than ever. I was glad that I could sit next to T, so we could talk on the way.

My brother picked us up at the airport at midnight. With Mom, of course. We dropped T off at the apartment and then went home...

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!