Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-05-01 - 11:09 p.m.

April 15, 2012:

I woke up at two in the morning, shivering in cold. It turned out that I had underestimated the AC in the shared room. Brr!

I quickly hid under the blanket and tried going back to sleep.

Breakfast at seven was pleasant.:) Bread and tea. Kamal was still asleep. I chatted with my friend Elnie online, since my phone credit was out and I needed to buy a local SIM card. Elnie lives in Singapore. We were meeting at Harbourfront later that night.

I asked Zen about where to buy the local SIM card, and he simply mentioned the closest 7-11 from the station. Then I thanked him and left.

T was still at a local church that morning, but we'd promised to meet each other at City Hall station at 11:30.

I got there about half an hour earlier. Oh, well. That was okay. I ended up strolling around Citylink Mall, waiting for him.

So, what were we doing?

Lots this time.:D He showed me The Fountain of Wealth at Suntec City Mall. We also went to Esplanade. I was impressed by the giant, rattan-tunnel - a work of art by Eko Prawoto.:)

The outdoor view was also wonderful.:D The spiky, durian-like buildings, Marina Bay, The Singapore Flyer...just awesome.

Marina Bay Sands took my breath away.:D It was sunny all day too, so it was just perfect. We had lunch outdoor, because the food court was packed with visitors. The kebab was nice.

The blues band at Esplanade was pretty cool. :) We sat through a few songs before we decided to walk again.

T had been dying to try this coffee-shop - 'Max Brenner'. I had to admit that they served super cold chocolate drinks.:P*slurps* He said he never had a chance while he was still in Sydney, so he had to or else he'd have been haunted by even just the thought of it.*giggles*

"Haunted by Max Brenner?"I joked. "Sounds like quite a guy!"

*big evil grin*

We watched another performance in Esplanade after six. It was an acapella group called...Sing After Six.:D They performed for fifteen minutes. They were really amazing. I couldn't help tearing up a bit when they sang their cover version of "Danny Boy". It sounded so beautiful and touching that I had to hide my teary eyes under my shades. So silly, I know.

:'-(...

"Hey."T caught a sight of me and handed me some napkins he'd snagged from McDonald's earlier. I know he hates seeing me cry like I do about him.

"Thanks." I accepted them and started dabbing my eyes. "Sorry, it's just so sad. The song, I mean."

"I know."

"I mean, in the end - his dad is never coming home."

"Yeah." Then we were silent for a moment. After that, T said,"Shall we?"

"Why?"

"They're making you cry."

"Ah." I smiled and waved my hand, feeling silly for being overly sensitive.*blushes"*"Nah, I'm fine now."

Sing After Six finished performing. T and I parted, because he had to join M and Jovita. I was chasing the next MRT to meet up with Elnie.

That night, I hung out with Elnie at a Korean restaurant in Vivocity Mall. Then we had drinks at Archipelago, watching Sentosa from a distance. (And I silently noted that down as my next destination for my future visits to Singapore.)

Too bad Elnie couldn't stay long. She had to work the next morning. That was okay, at least we'd finally met face to face after years of online contact.

I finally came back to the hostel at around midnight. This time, the guests were in the living room - watching "Man On A Ledge" - the movie T and I had watched earlier before we flew to Singapore.

And I was so tired and sleepy...

(to be continued)

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!