Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-04-29 - 4:08 p.m.

April 14, 2012:

I had already packed everything I needed the night before - as light as possible. I didn't want any excess baggage. I woke up at three and couldn't sleep anymore, giddy with excitement. It was my very first time in ages. I was practically doing it alone.

My brother had offered to accompany me to the airport, which was a good thing. We went together at 6:30 in the morning. We took the DAMRI bus to the airport.

We got there at around eight. Feeling hungry, we had breakfast at Hoka Hoka Bento. After that, my brother had to leave early - so we bid farewell and I was all alone, waiting for the check-in at nine.

My flight schedule with Lion Air was at 11:15, but there had been a twenty-minute delay. T informed me that he'd be picking me up at Changi airport, which was a relief.:)

I didn't do much on the plane. I mostly stared at the white clouds outside the window, or just fell asleep. I guess that was why I barely felt the slight turbulence on the way.

The plane landed at almost two. The moment I set foot on Changi Airport, I was in awe. Was I at the airport - or a megamall? Somehow, I felt a bit intimidated, though I tried my best not to show it.

Thankfully, that sinking feeling didn't last long.:) The moment I caught a sight of T, I felt relieved. It was my first day and I needed to see something familiar to make me feel safe. I know that sounds silly.

We rushed to Geylang by MRT. (Thank you, Githa, for lending me the card!:D) We stopped at Aljunied Station and started searching for WoW Hostel, the place where I'd be staying while I was in Singapore. I'd already booked a room online, and thankfully the direction given was very clear and easy to follow. It was also convenient - only a minute walk from the station.:D

And the place was awesome, especially for backpackers. It was very clean, with three bathrooms, a washing machine, free breakfast, a flat-screen TV, and...a 24-hour free internet service!:O Good God.

Somehow, I didn't mind sharing a room with strangers - even guys. The manager handed me a key, so I could save all my stuff in a locker.:) No problem. It was only the first day, and I had already got to talk to one of my roommates. His name's Zen and he's from The Philippines.:) Kinda cute.*bats eyelashes* He told me he wanted to visit Indonesia, especially Bali.

Well, I hope he's going there in June.:P It's a long shot, I know.

The rest was quite a rollercoaster ride.:P We met up with M (T's ex now) at the closest mall and had a late lunch at Pastamania. The food was great, of course.

We parted with M for a while, and headed to Bugis Junction. It was raining that late in the afternoon. The place was packed with weekenders. I didn't feel like shopping at all.:( Too bad.

But we had great ice cream sandwich.:D

We met M again at Orchard Road. T and I had gone to AFC studio earlier, where he'd visited a month before. He bought something for his kitchen.

Not much the three of us did there but window-shopping. M suggested that we go to Clarke Quay, because it looks especially beautiful at night.

And he was right. I was almost breathless at the view.:D The street musicians, the bridge, the lights, Fullerton Hotel, The Asian Civilization Museum...

Too bad we didn't have time for dinner. None of us wanted to miss the last MRT for the night. We parted at the station at around after ten. To be honest, this time I felt confident enough to go alone. I felt more...content than I had in years.:) Strange, huh?

I bought a toothpaste at a minimarket before heading back to the hostel. Most of the guests were still awake and in the living room, watching "Transformers 3". I grabbed all I needed from my bag, occupied one empty bathroom, brushed my teeth, washed my sweaty face, changed into pyjamas, and then went back into my room. Zen was already fast asleep in his bunk-bed, covered in a blanket.

A gorgeous Indian guy named Kamal was talking to me.:) He was friendly and chatty. Honestly, I was mighty interested in him - but I was also very, very tired and sleepy. I needed to go to sleep right away.

Sorry, Kamal.:( Good night.

(to be continued)

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!