Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2012-02-12 - 7:33 p.m.

So, it's two more days before Valentine's Day. It's not that I'm looking forward to it anyway. I don't even celebrate it. I'm a romantically-challenged skeptic, remember?*sneers* I'm a love cynic.

Well, if you ask me what I'm looking forward to - my answer would be seeing T again.:) Githa has told me that he'd actually arrived here last Thursday, but then he was flying again to KL with M. Hmm, sounds like it's all good to me. Githa and T are talking again. Things between T and M are going fine.

Good. At least they're all happy. At least they're not like me - the love cynic.*sneers*

So, anyway - they'll be flying back to Jakarta on Monday. After that, T will go back to work on Tuesday. If both of us are available, perhaps we could meet and hang out sometime this week. I miss him, I know, but we'll see how it goes.*shrugs*

Not much to tell about the life and times of this romantically-challenged skeptic.:P*sneers* I attended another internal workshop about "Storytelling For Children" last Friday. It was pretty cool. It brought back sweet memories.:)

I was a little disturbed by John's comment about me being more of an English/American than Indonesian. Why? We were on the same bus home that night and talking about sexual harassment that still often happens to women in this city. (How unfortunate.:|)

"I am not letting any men think that they can do whatever the hell they like with me!" I retorted angrily. I didn't even care that the other passengers looked up or seemed annoyed by me. "I have the right to feel safe wherever I am. This is my city too!"

"I've never heard any Indonesian women talk like that before," he told me, obviously looking surprised. "You sound more English or American."

What? I stared at him in disbelief. I knew that he didn't mean to sound offensive with that. (He's a nice old man and I like him.) It's just...the sad truth I'm living in.:( I mean, I know my people. Many still barely realize the importance of gender equality and human civil rights - especially the women's - to this already way too fucked up society.:(

In other words, what he said to me that Friday night sounded just like another wake-up call. The ringing keeps hurting my head.

"I'm not saying it's a bad thing," he went on, noticing my darkened expression. "It's just that...you're different. That's all. I also think it's a good thing."

"I know." I smiled at him but sighed sadly. "Well, what can I say, John? I'm quite an anomaly here."

He laughed, and so did I. However, I was also thinking really hard about one thing that night.

And I am still thinking about how to raise some serious awareness to this critical issue. Countless victims have already fallen, and more will be way too many.

Last Saturday after work, I hung out with Angie and Rafiq at PIM - until pretty late at night. We'd actually asked John to come along, but he didn't want to upset his overly jealous wife Lily. (Ouch. Poor man.:|)

The three of us had dinner at the food court. Rafiq was so hungry that he ordered Japanese food. Angie and I ate kebab. (I had extra fries.:D)

Hanging out with them was fun that night. Angie and I shared the same wicked sense of dark humour that only feminists and love cynics can really relate to. Poor Rafiq had to put up with us for the rest of the night.xD*giggles* What else could we say here?*big evil grin* Angie and I were just being very, very realistic here. We are too old to believe in stupid fairy tales.*sneers*

*deep sigh*

I know.:| My mood is always like this through the first couple of weeks this February. I keep hearing these mushy, romantic love songs that don't represent my life at all. I avoid reading and watching love tales that seem so foreign to me now. I'm sorry, I just can't stand them anymore. I hate to be reminded of all my failures in love. I don't need to be reminded of what I haven't got.

I guess I need to stop writing now before I start getting all depressed.:( Oh, well. A short break will do.:P

R.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!