Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-12-11 - 7:07 p.m.

I am still learning the new ropes for my new teaching job. A different school, a different system. That's always to be expected.

That's okay.:) Although I tend to panic just a bit, I am still enjoying the whole process. T's right. It's the whole new adventure for me.

And I am still collecting more story materials.:) I'm still a storyteller, remember?

Anyway, last Tuesday, I went to Panglima Polim again at around 8:30 am. What for? I have already resigned from there as well.

I went there to see T. I figured, just in case I don't get to see him before his flight home to Australia on Friday night.

He's my hero after all.:D He's helped me to get that new job.

Since I have already resigned, I am practically a guest now. An outsider, although I am no stranger to them. That's why I stood in front of the yellow back door that morning, as I dialed T's mobile number.

"Hello?"

"There's a buffy-haired girl outside the door." I couldn't suppress a grin, knowing how he often teases me about my hair. "Can she come in, please?"

I heard footsteps from inside, then a lock being turned. After that, the yellow door opened. He was standing in front of me with the phone on his ear and a surprised grin on his handsome face.:D

"Hi!" we greeted each other. I went into his arms and he hugged me. (How come no straight guys ever make me feel that safe?:|) Then he let me in and closed the door behind me.

"What are you doing here?" T asked me, still in awe. "You've already resigned. No schedules there again yet this week?"

"Nope. I know," I answered lightly. I sat watching him going back to online browsing. "I am here to see you, just in case I don't get to before you leave."

He smiled warmly. "Aww, that's sweet."

"Thanks, although I know I'm not made of sugar," I said in a straight face. When he chuckled, I added with a big, evil grin: "My twisted sense of humour."

"That's alright." Then we talked about something else, the way we used to when I was still working there. It was our last morning conversation, come to think of it.

After T had finished preparing for his morning class, we had breakfast at 7-11. (Well, actually he did - because I had already had mine at home. However, I still ordered a chocolate waffle and cappuccino.) He had three sweet breads and hot chocolate.

T was preparing me for a lot of things I'm bound to deal with at the new workplace. (Like a big brother.:D) I know how the real world works already, so I'm glad that he has given me tips and tricks on how to survive there. It's always good to get a heads-up, eh?:D

Get along with everybody. Ask questions around whenever you need help with the job. (My number one rule for newbies.) Avoid office politics. Play DUMB about it.

"Should I be worried?" I can't lie to him. I am.:|

"Nah, you'll be fine." He smiled. "Just take this as the calm before the storm. You're bound to see it anyway, so it's best to be prepared."

"Okay, thanks." Let's just hope so.*huffs*:O

"No problem."

"But I think I won't have time to deal with that," I told him. "I'll probably be too busy learning-"

"-the ropes," he finished it for me and nodded. He smiled again. "Good for you then."

I smiled back, hoping to chase away the worries in his face.:)

Then he got up as he passed me his last bread. I accepted it joyfully. "Thanks."

"Are you going to still be around here today?" T asked me before heading to his class. It was ten minutes to ten.

"Yes," I answered, nodding. "I need to finish some writing, then grab some lunch before going to Kuningan to prep for my Wednesday classes."

"I think it's better that you show up there tomorrow morning for that, but it's up to you," he suggested. "The girls and I might go out for lunch today, if you'd like to join us too."

"I'd love to." I shrugged."This stray cat is available today."

He just grinned before he left.

I did stick around until lunch. I ended up joining T, Dewi, and Hevi at The Bat Cave - which surprised the others. (Of course, I'd already bid farewell to them - which felt weird.*blushes*)

Still, that was a good thing, because T and the girls ended up inviting me over on Thursday night for his farewell party.:D

In the end, I didn't go to Kuningan at all. (Too tired and too lazy, especially since it was already late afternoon and I didn't dare imagine the traffic.:P) But I did accompany T to the photocopy service nearby, since the one at the office was out-of-order and he needed an interpreter to help him to avoid getting 'lost in translation'.

'Ronnie' from Kuningan called me at eight that night to ask me to cover for another absent teacher, so I ended up teaching for three classes last Wednesday.

On Thursday morning, I attended my dentist cousin Shari's pre-wed ceremony. No class schedules that day for me, so I got to relax a bit after that and before the farewell party.

And I had finally met M. T's boyfriend. Or 'partner', as he'd like to put it. But let's not go there yet.

As promised, I showed up at Panglima Polim at seven in the evening. I met Ghita at the front desk and we chatted for a while.

When it was time to leave, I got into Dewi's car. (She was driving, of course.) Hevi was driving hers with T by her side. Ghita was riding her motorcycle.

We went to Shisha Cafe in Kemang. At the parking lot, it was the very first time I met him...in the flesh. He showed up with his own car.

M.The boyfriend. Quite tall; well, athletically-built; with dark, short and rather spiky hair; smooth, clear, and golden complexion; specs, and a very nice smile. He was also smartly dressed in a dark blue shirt and black trousers.

Whoa.:O He is absolutely gorgeous. No wonder T's so hooked on him.:P

What an irony that night. Two hunks, four beauties (hehe!:P) None of those hunks are interested in us, because they happen to share a mutual interest...on each other.*big evil grin* How funny life is.

And M doesn't look 40. At all. (Probably because he works out at the gym regularly, from what I've heard and noticed then.*giggles*xD)

We had a blast that night. Pictures were taken. Foods and drinks were ordered. (Since T is more experienced with this culinary adventure, he helped us with recommendations and a bit of a demo.:P) We ended up ordering bread, hummus, salad, falafel, and...shisha in the end.:D

We also talked, joked around, and cracked up laughing. It was the night of pure fun and friendship.:D I will never forget it.

And I am surely going to miss T so much, but he said he'll be back soon.:'-)

"Safe flight. Enjoy your holiday. Have all the fun you need.:)"

"I will. Thanks.:)"

"Love you to bits, man. Don't forget that.;P"

"Hehe, I won't. Love you too."

The Author/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!