Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-10-26 - 7:55 p.m.

First of all, happy birthday for my lovely aunt Menti (alias Mama Venti) on October 24.

So, what's the story for this entry?

Again, it's a pretty long one. I didn't write much the last time, so here we go:

Last Saturday, I wandered aimlessly around Blok M in the afternoon. (What can I say?:| I was bored.:P) I ate lunch alone and then went home. Mom and my brother went to Bandung. My sister and her family went out. Dad was - as usual - staying home with the male nurse.

I had wanted to find a pair of sunglasses there, but could not find any which have suitable frames on my face. I needed second opinions. I am not that confident. (I am the lady with serious lack of fashion taste, remember?*big evil grin*)

Why did I need sunglasses all of a sudden? It was the damn previous heatstroke that had hurt my eyes and given me the migraine.:( Obviously, it was from the radiation. A side-effect of the global warming.

Will it get any worse?:(

*shivers in fear*

Anyway, I spent my Saturday night in front of TV for "Criminal Minds: Suspect Behaviour". Boring? No. I enjoy the show, as much as the original "Criminal Minds".:) Forest Whitaker happens to be one of my favourite actors.

Then, out of the blue, Lovely Tony texted me. There's another opportunity for me at another foreign language school in Kuningan. He and I have been going over this possibility since last August...secretly.

Am I interested? Yes. Have I sent my CV yet? Last Sunday night.

Why??

*deep sigh*

Alright, when it comes to making any possible progress for your career, you have to be very careful with your decisions. Emotions should be pushed aside for a while. Be logical and rational.

First of all, do I still like my job now? I love it. Flexible working hours, freedom and creativity at work, and nice co-workers. (Well, I even think of them as my second family.:D)

Plus, it is close to where I live.

So, what is wrong?

Nothing, really. But then again, that could be the tricky part. You know what they say about 'the comfort zone'. It can lead to stagnation, just because it makes you feel safe.

Well, I received a reply from the school manager on Monday morning. (Okay, that was quick.) In order to show my seriousness, I contacted Mr.Lindsay - the school manager - on Tuesday morning.

And I am having my first entry test there on Friday morning at nine.

Well, I have got to be brave about this now. I think I have finally made up my mind. In the end, it is all about gaining more experiences, meeting new people, and expanding my network. Broadening my horizon, as Mz.D would always like to put it.

So, am I ready for this kind of change?

Yes, I am.:D No seconds thoughts or hesitations this time.

Will I miss all my friends at work now? Of course. But this is just how life works. It is nothing personal. I love them all.

I just don't want to get trapped in 'the comfort zone'.

So, what's the other back-up plan?

A media company, recommended by my friend Gita. I am going to try that too, although I have made up my mind.

In the end, whichever accepts me first and offers me bigger salary than my current one, I will take it.

For now, first things first. I still need to do my job well.:) Plus, my side project at Gigi's morning school this Saturday.

What about my freelance translating job? It is off for now. One phone call from my cousin Rizki again and I will be on the move. It is that simple.

I am back to writing more. Hopefully I will be more productive and can earn something more from this.

As usual, I refuse to go down without a fight!

*bares fangs* :P

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!