Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-09-05 - 2:33 p.m.

"Dad, can I ask you a favour?"

He nodded.

"I need you to pray for me."

He nodded again. I sighed in relief.

"Thank you." Yikes, this is hard. "Dad, I'm not a freak...right?"

He nodded. His lips trembled a little.

"And somebody wants to be with someone like me?"

He nodded again. I pressed his hand, silently begging, please, don't cry.:'-(

"I'm sorry, Daddy. I have to ask that."

Another nod. When our eyes finally met, I smiled at him. The corner of his mouth twitched a little. Was that a smile?

"I know you didn't really mean what you said back then," I told him. "I know that now. You were just angry. I know you didn't mean it."

He nodded again. His shoulders shook slightly.

"Sssh, it's okay." Suddenly I felt more terrible than ever. "I'm sorry I have let you down so many times before."

He shook his head. Was that a 'no'?

"So, are you really going to pray for me too this time?"

It took one last nod to lift off the weight of the years.

"Thank you, Daddy. I love you."

I wished he'd been able to answer that. I still do.

If only he could talk again...:'-(

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!