Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-07-17 - 7:21 p.m.

I have been working on a class project with my students. The first week of school has gone by in a flash, but we have decided to use the theme "School Bullying" and this is one of their essays:

Rasti's story:

Rasti*(16) is being bullied by her school seniors only because they think she is annoying. Her voice sounds like a little girl's and that somehow upsets them. Because of their mockery, she feels so angry. She hates her seniors more.

(as retold by Valerie*)

*All names have been changed.

--- // ---

One of the most popular public high schools in Jakarta has this annual, unofficial 'tradition' between students. Every year (and for the whole year), the freshmen are expected (or demanded, to be more precise) to follow these stupid rules by their insecure, nonsensical seniors - all in the name of gaining 'respect':

1.No branded bags or shoes for freshmen:

I don't understand what is so threatening about a new kid showing up at school in a pair of Adidas or carrying an expensive-looking school-bag. I mean, I can't even believe that many kids nowadays pursue higher education and act like grade-A jerks. Don't they have anything better and more important to do, like studying for finals or preparing for college?

2.Address all seniors as 'Kakak' (Big Brother or Big Sister):

That is okay if they really deserve it. If the freshmen don't (or refuse to do so), they will be considered disrespectful. Why the feudalistic crap? That's not real respect! Get over it, will you? It's not like you're going to stay in that school forever. You're only a year apart anyway, so what's the big deal? You're not even blood-related. (FYI, I even address my older sister with just her name.)

3.Know your turf:

There are three stairs in the building, but the freshmen can only use one. The seating arrangement in the school cafeteria will remind you of those in the maximum security prisons. (I watch documentaries.) The freshmen get the smallest spot at the very corner, while the seniors can eat up the rest of the space.

That's not even enough. If you're a freshman student, don't even think about hanging there for lunch. Their eyes will simply bore into you. If you dare stare back, it's their excuse to pick a fight with you. If you're unlucky, they don't feel the need to have an excuse at all to do so. It's all about power and control for such narcissistic souls.

Don't ask me what can happen if you 'violate their territory'. You're lucky if they only bash you verbally. It could be worse.

4.Freshmen students aren't allowed to go to the malls in town all by themselves, unless they're with their parents/other family members:

If a senior from the same school catches them breaking this rule, they'll be the most favourite 'targets' of the year. Personally, I think this is just beyond idiotic. I mean, who the hell do they think they are? They don't own the malls. They don't even own the schools. Why is this 'teenage mafia' such a trend here?

What will become of these kids - especially if the so-called tradition keeps being passed down to the next class? Corporate thugs? Weakling cowards? Backstabbers?

Don't ask me. As a former victim and now a teacher, I am more than concerned.

I am enraged.

The Author

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!