Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-04-28 - 11:53 a.m.

Ha-ha, am I too obvious or what?*big evil grin*

Ah, never mind.:P It's already close anyway.

Well, a couple of things or so occured last long weekend. I met my cousin Panji at the engagement party last Saturday night. He's a university student and also a bass player of a local indie R&B band on the rise. Menti (his mother, my aunt of course) told me that they were finishing their very first major label studio album.:D Alright!

Panji offered that if I had any poem suitable for a song lyric, I could give them that. If it's good enough, then the royalty can be arranged.:) I mean, why not?

"It's even better if it's in English," he added with a grin, showing his braces. "Even if it's about love and heartbreak, we don't want to get out music trapped in sappy cliches."

Sounds like a challenge.*sneers*

I also met my sister's old friend Kenny. He used to be this gorgeous high school kid having a crush on my sister (who was a junior at that time.)

He's now an enterpreneur.:) Well, sort of. A typical yuppy, and also the type that most girls might go after.:P

Well, I'm not most girls. I mean, I like Kenny too, but that's just as far as it goes. I've always imagined him more as a big brother. I know that my sister also used to have a crush on him too, but...there are 'religious obstacles'. (To my family, it is important.) So they decided to be just friends.

I told Kenny about one of my crazy plans. You see, I've been thinking about compiling a collection of writings (articles, tips, true stories, quotes) about...the dark side of love. I've even already come up with a title:

"ROMANTICALLY-CHALLENGED" (a huge dedication to the broken hearts, love-cynics, and acute skeptics in the world of romance out there)

Hehe.*big evil grin*

To my surprise, Kenny thought it was a good idea. In fact, he even concluded that it was a unique one.:D

"Too many authors have already written about love and its typical happy-endings," he said. "I'm not saying it's a bad thing. It's just...we need something else to even that out."

"Yeah." I nodded. "Not many people want to admit that they're on that stage. People just have no idea how hard it is that some keep going through the same shit overtime."

"These days, people who go through that need more support - something they can relate to. Someone who can understand their situation."

Bingo! "Ken, do you know what I usually do when my heart gets broken?"

"What's that, kiddo?"

"I keep myself as busy as possible," I told him. I gazed up at the tall guy. "I teach more classes, do more translation works, and write more often. Basically, I try to earn more money."

Unfortunately, some people call that 'running away from reality'.:| Seriously, they have no idea that I get sick of the same old pain. A lot.

"Really?" Kenny looked genuinely amazed. "Wow, you're so much better than me, kid. I get myself drunk. I think you're on the right track already."

Really? Am I??:D

Well, I guess that's why I still write the way I write. Some friends think that my style is boring. They say I write depressive stuff too much, too often.

Most of them imply that I'm more often sad than happy.*sneers*

I could say that most of my writings represent these kind of people. The heart-broken ones. Those who have lost (and have to lose, one way or another) the ones they love. Those who have to see the ones they love choose someone else - over and over again. Those who have always lost their battles in the world of romance. The overlooked. The under-appreciated. The jilted ones. The (labeled) weirdos/freaks. Not every soul is always strong enough to deal with this whole shit, and - the same old crappy news is - society's not always that understanding.

Who's going to stand up for them? Who's going to speak on their behalf - telling the whole world that these people aren't losers - they're the warriors who can stand most of the emotional battle scars love has inflicted upon them? I bet they've never asked for any of this.

Neither have I.

"If you're more productive when you're heartbroken, then you need to experience that more often," Kenny joked. "Make more money out of it."

I giggled. "Maybe, but it has side-effects too," I reminded him. "My heavy skepticism. If a guy starts saying sweet things to me, I wonder if it's for real or just my silly imagination."

Those guys are really going to have to try their best to convince me. Sorry, I don't settle for less in this case. My standard's still the same.*big evil grin*

I checked the gym I used to frequent a lot. I think I need to go back there again and start a more regular workout next month. I've gotten sick all too easily these days. (Now it's the damn flu again.:|) May's coming soon and it's still raining. Strange weather.

That's a bad sign. I haven't been taking care of myself that well lately. I must change that.

I was just at the bank to have my new ATM card printed. My old one got swallowed last night.:( Grrh!

Must go to work despite the flu...:(

The Author/SBF/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!