Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2011-04-07 - 8:56 a.m.

This is what normally happens when I get too busy to write in here. By the time I get back, I often hesitate with that question in my head:

Where do I begin?:P

Oh, heck. I'll just dive in as always.

Not much to say about last week, except what had been going on last weekend. Work, work, work. I'd finally learned that the magazine only pays for short stories - not poetry, after one phone call I'd made on Monday. No problem. They'd sent me a cool merchandise, though. A nice green tee, but it's so tight that people can see...umm, the annoying extra fat I'm still battling against. (Grrh!:x)

Then, there was the painless trip to the tax office on Thursday. Why painless? It didn't take that long. Plus, the tax official wasn't too nosy like the one last year - asking about whether I had any 'valuable' properties under my name. (With a teacher's salary?:P Ha-ha!)

Saturday was the greatest, though.:D The whole school teachers, staffs, and I went out of town to hang out at Taman Bunga Nusantara (Nusantara's Giant Flower Garden) at the hillside of Bogor. I've visited some parts of the hillside as a kid.

The air wasn't as badly-polluted as it always is in Jakarta. It was a sunny day with less heat. We had a picnic and played games. I tried the go-kart twice and felt good about letting off some steam by speeding on it.

I tried the ATV too and had almost fallen off.*blushes* Gigi was much better at it, of course, since she rides a motorcycle everyday.

We even went into The Maze. To be on the safe side, we formed into groups of five before we entered. Each had the same map we bought from the tour guide.

The funny thing was, we still got lost even with the maps!:D LOL!! That was hilarious. Eventually, we found the other groups at the central point of the maze after ten minutes of half-blind search. Right there, there was a group of small green bushes purposely-shaped into the words "I LUV U". Just for kicks, Mz.D made me stand next to it and have my picture taken.*cringes* I'm a love cynic, remember?*sneers*

When we finally exited the maze, it was already the edge of the noon. We admired more plants (some of them remind me of those in "Edward Scissorshand". It's where Johnny Depp (Edward) creates dinosaurs and ducks from plants.) We took pictures too, but most of us were already very, very tired. Poor Bear. He's a lovely chub, but when it comes to continuous long walks - he's just so out of shape. With his undying love for junk foods and cigarettes, who would be surprised?

No wonder he crashed fast and hard by the time we were on the bus on our way back to Jakarta.

By the time I got home, I was already too exhausted that I fell asleep instantly. When I woke up on Sunday morning, my whole body felt as if I'd gathered a week of grueling workouts into one solid day. (Aargh!) It took more than ten minutes for me to have finally dragged myselfout of bed. Seriously.

When my brother and Mom said they were going to Gandaria City (another shopping mall nearby), I forced myself to ignore the pain. A trip to the mall usually means shopping and eating out, and I was right. After shopping, the three of us had lunch at my brother's favourite choice - a sushi restaurant named "Takigawa". Super yummy!

That night, we went to my cousin Shari's engagement meeting plan at her house a block away. (My dentist cousin is getting married to a GP named Yadi.)

I couldn't take it anymore when I'd noticed - once again - how most men in my family smoked incessantly that night. (Uncles and cousins.) They didn't even care when my sister walked in with Ganesh and Baby Gyan. (Sadly, even the boys' dad often smokes near them too.*rolls eyes*)

Seriously, how could grown-ups be so bloody selfish?!

"I'm sick of seeing men smoke all the time," I blurted out to Shari when we were out of their earshot. "I don't want to end up with one for the rest of my life."

"Amen to that, Bee. Thank God my Yadi doesn't smoke."

"Awesome." Because he's a rarity. Don't buy it? Come to Jakarta and see what I mean.:|

The Author/SBF/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!