Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-12-26 - 2:59 p.m.

Mz.D often says that The British have got more creative variety of insults than The Americans. I agree. No offense, but they do sound more subtle yet sophisticated.:P

I know that my good friend Lorenzo has kindly advised me not to bother so much with 'that girl'.Still, I have to write this down. This is like my anti-venom, so that the poison doesn't stay in too long. That's why I don't just let any friends - no matter how good they are - read this. I'm well-aware that not many can take the worst in me.*big evil grin* What about you, dear readers?

I'm not going to lie to you. I'm not perfect. If someone is downright rude and bitchy to me, I can be a lot nastier in words.*sneers* I swear to you, I can make the meanest girl cry and run to snitch to her parents for protection.

However, I know better not to. I play the game differently this time. It's best to stay quiet but secretly cunning, making sure that when a bully tries to get others to see the worst beast in you - it just won't work. Tiger is right. So is Mz.D. (Come to think of it, they both do have one thing in common, and are very good at this.)

If you silently observe long enough, you'll get to notice things. You don't just listen to what people say, but catch up with what they don't. And no, it doesn't always have anything to do with mere assumptions and deductions.

The more a person yaps a lot, the more they usually reveal their personal weaknesses. The wrong type of audience can be a grave danger to them. Unfortunately for them, they're just way too caught up in their own heads.

That's why people at work don't just call me 'Kitty' for nothing. (No, I don't steal food from them or anything like that.:P I just love cats.) At first, you may think I don't care about your surroundings because I appear childlike and harmless on the outside. The fact is, my eyes and ears are always alert. (Thank God.) I know that I'm not always that successful in 'selective hearing', but...well, let's just face it. Human emotions are funny. You can't brag about being able to control yours all the time. That's not true. A joke. All too impossible.

Mz.D said Yapping Old Bat (YOB) was clearly a narcissist. She wasn't also very bright. Yet she often tries to conceal that by putting others down as harsh as she can.

Tuesday:

I heard she was talking with Shanti and Panda - the newbie and also the youngest at work. It was all about book-publishing. When I told Panda about the danger of e-mailing your first draft to the publisher, YOB cut in with obvious mockery in her eyes:

"Hey, but my friend got hers published through that! You don't have many social relations, do you?" Seriously, I'd never seen her so ugly with that arrogant smirk on her face. "Ha! Poor you. How pathetic."

"That was only one evidence-"

"But you didn't know that, did you?" she pressed stubbornly, as if I was the helpless idiot who should've known of such a little fact. "You didn't!"

I said no more after that and went to my next class. Whatever, bitch. Fuck you.*rolls eyes* I get it. That's how you make yourself feel superior to others. To me now, you're just another hag with a serious case of primadonna complex. (Besides, I didn't know her friend she'd brought up, so it wasn't my fault.:P)

The truth is, more personal rights are more likely to risk piracy and infringements (especially by hackers.) But no, I didn't tell her that. Why the hell should I bother? What a waste of time and (my) energy it would be. I've known what she's really like now. I've got much more important stuff to do than arguing with a pair of deafened ears, thank you very much. Even if other people are (proven) right, she still won't buy it.

The funny thing is, long ago, she said she was afraid of posting her works online and getting pirated. (What's the difference with e-mails? We can still get hacked, no matter how careful we are.) It's like, she says one thing and then claims another. What an amusing silly lot!

For narrow-minded people like her (who believe the world must revolve around them), a passive response from the other party is perceived as a weakness and a silent agreement to their opinions. The truth is, people are just growing tired of (dealing with) her.

Well, let's just leave her on her empty little stage, shall we?*sneers* It won't take long before the bored audience starts disappearing one by one, leaving her alone.

For Shanti, she says she always prefer personal approach - so she'll never go for e-mails when it comes to sending her stuff to be published. (She still has no idea how to reach the foreign ones, though.) Good for her.:)

I know that some of you people think I care too much about people, but I had to make sure that sweet, naive Panda didn't get too influenced by YOB's vile tongue. I often tell him that he can get advice from people, but in the end - he ought to follow his own guts and believe in his own choices. He knows he can't be a little boy anymore.

Still, I never thought that someone like Mz.D could be at her wit's end when it comes to dealing with people like YOB. But she is, even when she only shares that with me. At least she still knows better not to bitch around people at work about her, though. Good for her. She's too smart for that.

Wednesday:

I wasn't feeling well but came to work instead. I had to concentrate harder, so I mostly kept quiet. Indeed, I ignored YOB most of the day. She went on and on loudly and cheerfully about mundane stuff, exchanging pranks and immature jokes with Panda.

Then Jules had an idea that we all head downtown to Gramedia Bookstore in Grand Indonesia after work or the next morning for a year-end sale. That sounded tempting, but I was - *snifs* - flat broke. Mz.D urged me to go window-shopping at least, so I finally gave in.:)

At first, we'd planned to do it on Thursday morning before work. Both Jules and Mz.D were very considerate with other people's schedules and conditions. I had one last class of the term until seven. Shanti had to tutor someone at home.

"Besides," Jules added, gesturing at me, "she's not well today. She needs more rest."

Somehow, YOB managed to change everybody's mind by saying she couldn't come the next day and insisted that they go right away after work. Not wanting to make a big deal out of it, I shrugged off and told everyone that I didn't need to go. I mean, what was the point anyway? I'm flat broke. The bookstore's not going anywhere. There'll always be another sale. No worries.*shrugs*

See? Who says women can't be logical, rational, and practical too? I'll punch you in the face if you dare say otherwise!=x

Poor Mz.D.:) She didn't look too happy with their final decision (but still went along anyway.) I could totally understand her feelings. It wasn't the sudden change of plan that mattered.

"I'll just focus more on the displayed books," she hissed to me. Her annoyance was palpable. "I can't believe that I still have to put up with listening to her yap all night."

"No, you won't," I responded calmly. "You can use your 'selective hearing' skills. I mean, you've always been good at it."

Thursday:

My boss treated me with free lunch.:D (Psst, don't tell anyone, but only a couple of office boys and I were that lucky!*big evil grin*) YOB had cleared off her table. I caught Mz.D's expression, which clearly read: Good. Can't wait for her to disappear.

Shanti cooked for our dinner tonight before the long holiday.:D She made salad and meatballs. Unfortunately, she'd had quite a trouble on the way. Traffic had been crazy. She'd also run out of money. (Yikes!)

And there weren't enough meatballs for all of us.

"I hope it's okay if I ask for a little donation, so that I could buy some more," she ended her story breathlessly. She was obviously troubled and exhausted.

"Poor you," said YOB. If we were still real friends, I would've believed that she'd been genuine.

"How much do you need?" I asked Shanti. She turned to me.

"Five-thousand is enough," she said. Despite being flat broke, I handed her my last two-thousand in coins. I'd eat the meatballs too, so why not?

"Sorry, that's all I could give."

"No problem, thank you." Shanti smiled gratefully. When YOB said "poor you" for the third time, Bear surprisingly jumped in:

"You keep saying 'poor you' to her but won't give her the money?" That was completely out of the blue. He'd said it with a smirk and a playful tone, but I could tell from his eyes that he was actually serious. That struck me:

He notices too that she's awfully stingy, but trying to hide it by faking empathy!

"Alright, alright, I will!" YOB shot back defensively. I'd wanted to laugh. She was busted!*big evil grin*

I was glad when the day ended. Mz.D and I went home together. It was her turn to feel unwell (maybe not just physically).

Okay, I did something I'm not really proud of now. I told Mz.D the real reason YOB resigned from her teaching job:

It was our last dinner together - Gigi, YOB, and me. From the way she'd been beaming, I suspected something was up with YOB. (She can never hide her real feelings well and she's also a lousy secrets' keeper. Past experience's proved me that!) She'd tried to dodge my interest elsewhere and changed the subject, but finally gave up and told Gigi and I a silly initial with a rather embarrassed grin:

"F.H."

"What?" Gigi frowned, but I quickly guessed: "Future Husband?"

"Oh." YOB looked disappointed that I could guess that easily. Didn't think I was actually that smart and observant, eh?:P "Yeah."

"Oh, my God!" squealed Gigi in delight as she threw her arms around her. I just smiled and guessed again: "That Australian lad? Your friend Winda's ex?"

"Yes, but how do you know?" This time, YOB's jaw dropped. I saw a slight annoyance in her eyes.

"Again...lucky guess." Just like what I've told Gigi and some people quite many times before, it's almost like an eerie kind of gift. I've got a strange ability to notice if someone's in love with another. Sometimes it's a sheer torture for myself when - again and again - I have to notice that the guy I truly love always loves someone else. As much as I truly want him to be happy, knowing that smile and serene look on his face which are meant for somebody else is the most horrid agony I somehow have to keep on dealing with, year after year.

And no, I have no ability to detect whether any normal guy can ever possibly fall for someone like me. Somehow, this thing only works for other people. (Or perhaps that certain fellow never existed. Maybe some people are destined to be alone for the rest of their lives, no matter what. I don't know.*shrugs* I hate to think that God can be that cruel. He's not, I know.)

"I don't know how to tell Winda this."

"Well, she's married to someone else, so it's okay," I reasoned logically. "He's no longer hers anymore. He's yours now."

"Yeah, but..." YOB averted my gaze. Instantly, I knew the problem. Last year, she'd bragged about how she'd never ever wanted to date any guy whom her friends liked/once liked/who was her friend's ex - even if she herself liked the guy. She'd even implied that girls who did that sort of thing would be a...bad lot.

Surprise, surprise.*sneers*

I'd told her that we'd never know whom we might've ended up with. We can never really tell.

Now she had to take back what she'd said...

"That's all?" Mz.D scowled. "That's a normal thing to do. Why did she ask you and Gigi to keep it a secret about it? What's with her embarrassment?"

"I don't know." I shrugged. I know that I wasn't being respectful with a person's wish to keep it a secret, but she didn't seem to respect me that much anymore. So why bother? Call this a vendetta as you like. I don't care. I don't even care if she or Gigi reads this and I'm hated for life for this.

"Unless she was secretly recruited by CIA or M-15..." Mz.D rolled her eyes. I just nodded again.

"Maybe she's afraid if something goes wrong and things don't work out, she'll be embarrassed," I deduced. "She often says she's not the type to blab about stuff like this to people at work."

"Bear did," she pointed out.

"I know."

"I guess she can't stand any mishap. No surprise, considering how much she likes laughing at other people's misfortunes and weaknesses."

"True." Then something struck me. "Hmm, I wonder what she'd really thought of me when I told her about the thing with Red last year."

"With that irky attitude of hers, I bet she secretly laughed at you."

"Possibly."

"And I don't think she ever thought of us as real good friends to her," Mz.D added again. "We've been wrong about her all along."

"That happens," I reasoned calmly. "At least, we don't have to deal with her again now that she's out. Gone for good."

"Good."

Do me a favour, God. Unless YOB changes her attitude, I never want to see her again. Please, just make her go far, far away from me. I don't care. She's changed, or maybe this is the real her I've seen. My life is far better off without girls like her, thank you very much!

The Author/SBF/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!