Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-12-16 - 8:35 p.m.

Oops.:O From the pretty damn long title above, you might think I'm in my mean-spirited, sarcastic mode. Like it or not, that's a part of me.*shrugs* If you're in a touchy mood, I suggest that you skip this entry.:P Other than that, I'm not responsible for any offenses (especially if you're one of these people.*big evil grin*)

For those who have no idea (or choose to take the easy way out, as always :|), they tend to blame me for being such a difficult party. (Nothing new with that.*sneers*) The fact is, there are still guys out there who clearly have no idea how to strike up a normal conversation with a girl they've just met. Is it poor social skills/social awkwardness? Beats me. Perhaps someone out there can shed a little light on me here, so I don't have to be too...err, bitchy about this.

I'm not sure if cultures also take part in this. (In fact, I hate to even think of such possibilities!) Sadly, maybe the educational background also plays a more significant role, like how they were raised and taught to treat women in certain ways - including similar expectations on my kind. (Ugh.*rolls eyes*)

I've seen a lot of them in this part of society. Unfortunately, I've also come across some. Now, before you start assuming this is why I don't get boyfriends easily (which is so not related!*scoffs*), let me give you some of my past encounters with some random guys:

SETTING - DAY. INT - THE GYM. My friend Gigi and I are working out on stationery bikes. A tall, bulky guy with thick, dark eyebrows and beard enters the room and starts using another stationery bike right next to me. He looks at a blank TV screen in front of me. Then he turns to me.

Him:"Excuse me. Do you know how to turn that TV on?"

Me:(stops and finds the remote control in a basket attached to the pole of my stationery bike, picks it up and turns the TV on) "There you go." (channel-surfs while working out again) "Which channel?"

Him:"Thank you. Anything less boring and not too conversational, please."

Me:(stops at a motorcycle race on TV)"Is this okay?"

Him:(smiles)"Yes, thanks."

Me:(puts the remote control back to its previous place)"Good choice. Boys and their toys."

Him:(smiles again)"Not my kind, though."

Me:(turns to him with a smile)"Really? What's yours?"

Him: "A jet."

Me:(drops jaw)"Whoa, you're a pilot."

Him:(turns to me with a smile)"And an engineer."(extends his right hand)"I'm Daniel."

If that still doesn't get you, here's another example:

SETTING - NIGHT. INT/VENUE. There's a crowd by the empty stage before the rock concert. A tall, lean guy in an army jacket and a dark blue beanie cap is taking pictures of the stage. I'm standing next to him, waiting for my favourite band to come out and play with a smile on my face.

Him:"Can't hardly wait for them, eh?"

Me:(turns to him, surprised that he notices me)"Yeah."

Him:"Coming here alone?"(snaps another shot)

Me:(smiles at him)"That obvious, huh? I bet so are you."

Him:"Yeah. You must really love the band."

Me:"A fan."(gestures at his camera)"For your campus newspaper?"

Him:(grins)"Nah, just a hobby."

Me:"There's always a way to turn a hobby into a real profession."

Him:"You got that right."(extends his right hand)"By the way, I'm Angga."

Althought I've never heard from them again, at least they'd made good, non-intimidating and genuine impressions at that time. Now, let's compare with this one:

SETTING - NIGHT. INT/INSIDE THE BUS. I'm sitting by the window, staring at the busy traffic outside. Suddenly, a tall, scrawny guy comes sitting next to me with a goofy grin.

Him:"Hi. Can I know your name?"

Me:(glares back suspiciously)"What for?"

Him:"I just want to know you."

Me:"Why?"

Him:(sighs)"I've just told you why. Here."(extends his right hand)"My name is Ayes. Yours?"

Me:(lies)"Ari."

Him:(looks slightly annoyed)"Why won't you shake my hand?"

Me:"I'm tired."

Him:"Okay."(awkward silence)"So, Ari. Where do you live?"

Me:"I move around a lot. Can't say much."

Him:"Well, at least you can give me your phone number."

Me:"Why should I?"

Him:(looks exasperated)"Because I want to talk to you again."

Me:(taps window harshly and yells)"Driver, stop here!"(gets up quickly to go away)

Him:"Hey!"(grabs my hand, but I shove him and jump off the bus to flee for another one out there)

And another example:

SETTING - NIGHT. EXT/THE QUIET STREETS. I'm on way home when an ojek motorcyclist offers a ride. After we've made an agreement on the fare, I hop on and direct the way.

Him:"Oh, you live there too? So do I."(sounds suspiciously interested)"Which one's your house?"

Me:(lies)"I move around a lot. I just have to be there tonight."

Him:"Really? Where do you live exactly? Everyone must have a home, you know."

Me:"Yeah, but I move around a lot."

Him:"Where do you come from, actually?"

Me:"Jakarta."

Him:"You don't sound like it. Which part of Jakarta?"

Me:(sounds more annoyed than ever)"Does it have to be more specific?"

Him:(equally annoyed)"Yes."

Awkward silence all through the way. Then I ask him to drop me off at a 24/7 convenient store - a block away from home. There are still people there. After I get off and pay the fare, the ojek motorcyclist turns to me.

Him:"Lady, I think you need to have a clearer life path."

Me:"Sure, whatever."(yawns and waits until he's out of earshot)"Loser."

I'd rather have him thought of me as a cold and distant bitch than an easy prey.*rolls eyes* Maybe I'm just being paranoid, but if you've ever had some sick experiences with stalkers taunting you about how they watch your every move and know every bit you do for the whole six months - think again.

Perhaps the previous two guys weren't as menacing or dangerous as I'd suspected (and...ahem, feared.:|) Still, I'll never know and never want to. I'm not sorry for relying on my own instinct.(Believe me, it's saved me a lot in the past, thank God!) I know that in this part of society, it's always - ALWAYS - much easier for people to blame everything on women.:( It's dangerous out there, so why roam alone at night (when in fact you do get robbed behind locked doors as well!) Always be nice and friendly to others (but will they stand up for you if your rights get violated and some evil, manlike creatures take advantage of you because of that?!)

What's wrong with these guys? Can't they take the hint? I hate hurting other people's feelings, but guys like the previous two those nights make me want to sing this loudly:

"Go away now, let me go.
Are you stupid, or just a little slow?
Go away now, I've made myself clear."

The Author/SBF/QB

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!