Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-11-20 - 7:21 p.m.

I have always wanted my own motorcycle. I mean, I still do.

However, when I own one, I hope I don't end up doing these two things I am about to tell you:

"Dude, This Ain't No L.A!"

That was my very first thought when I witnessed this unpleasant incident during my last trip to Bogor. It was a clear and mild Saturday morning. My friends and I were on a public minivan on our way to IPB (Institut Pertanian Bogor - Bogor's Institute of Agricultures), when we suddenly heard a loud siren from the back. We switched our attention through the back window in unison.

It was not a police car nor an ambulance. (No, it was not a coroner's minivan either, because they also use sirens when they want to deliver a body/corpse A.S.A.P to the destination. Sadly, it rarely helps them to beat the traffic.) It was just some dude riding his shiny, well-polished Harley Davidson with his chin up. (I doubt that people from L.A mostly do that too, personally. I don't know, so please enlighten me.) I got the attitude. I just didn't understand the point of seeking such attention.

Then, to our surprise, the HD rider knocked over another biker from the opposite direction. The other biker managed to set foot on the ground to stop the fall, but - unfortunately - the passenger behind him was carrying a large wooden cupboard when that happened. The cupboard flew and crashed against the asphalt road.

The HD rider rode off, not even bothering to look back for once. It was like, I don't know. Maybe he had left his manners at home that morning.

Or perhaps he had thought that being a real bad guy was cool. Unfortunately, his irky attitude was no match to his precious ride.:P

You could say that God worked pretty fast, because the next morning we saw the same HD rider being pulled over by a local police officer and...given a ticket. Talk about a quick karma...*sneers*

'Aargh!'

I often ride with an ojek biker to work, especially when I am in a hurry. (Ojek: a motorcyclist who can take you to any of your destination for an amount of fee.) Honestly, I hate the traffic and sometimes I can't stand the heat outdoor, despite the fact that I have been living here all my life.

It happened on Tuesday. As soon as I got off the motorcycle and paid the fare, I headed to the school building nearby. Only a couple of steps were taken when suddenly:

"Aaargh!"

I couldn't lift my right foot. I looked down and - to my horror - saw the motorcycle's front wheel on top of it, squeezing it to the ground.

"Oh, my God! I'm sorry. I'm sooo sorry!"

The pale-faced, obviously guilt-stricken ojek biker quickly backed away. My foot was now stinging. Did it break? I tried moving it carefully. It didn't hurt that much. A good sign, I guess. Thank God.

"I am very, very sorry."

"It's okay." I somehow managed to shrug it off, knowing it was just a rather silly accident. At least he had not run off like that HD rider in Bogor.

Only then I had to rub my foot with some cajun oil, because it got swollen at night. I tried not walking too much until I got better. Oh, well.

The Author/SBF

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!