Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-10-19 - 8:18 a.m.

I am really not in a good mood these days.:( I feel like raising my flag but only half a pole.

My country has been mourning. If you like catching up on world news, I am pretty sure you have heard about the major flood in Wasior, West Papua. The earthquake and tsunami in Mentawai, West Kalimantan. The eruption of Merapi Mountain in Central Java, around Sleman and near Jogjakarta.

And more flood in Jakarta too recently, but the last one doesn't surprise me. Shamefully, I must admit that we have never, ever really learned.*blushes* How come?

Where do we go from here?

Hundreds have lost their lives. Thousands have evacuated to safer spots and refugees' campsites. More are still reported missing.

And so far, the numbers are still going up.

First and foremost, I would like to send my greatest gratitude to everyone who have been quick and responsive enough to help and support the surviving victims. If you are one of them, I could never thank you enough. I know that I haven't done much myself. I wish I could do more.

However, some people in the government here have been sadly...insensitive. Do we still need more reasons to be apathetic these days?

I am not going to mention any names here. What for? I am tired. I am disgusted by their insensitivity and their sick, stupid statements on the news. So far, all they do is enrage the citizens even more - especially the surviving victims.

Here are some of their dumbest, most insensitive statements:

"Flood? If it's still below 30 cm (11.8 inches), why report that to me? It's still a puddle!"

(That came from a guy who had claimed to be "the expert of everything - even the flood" during his election campaign to become the governor. Well, he can say it to the faces of the family who lost their college daughter. She'd been walking through the muddy water when she got accidentally dragged down into a large sewer hole and had been drowned for two hours before they finally found her dead body.*shakes head*)

"It's the lousy draining system and the extreme weather that has caused the hard rain and the major flood!"

(Yeah, we know that already, Sir.:| Any real solutions yet?)

"If they know that place is potential for tsunami, then why did they still live there?"

(Okay, I am lost. Does that mean they want to give new homes to the tsunami victims or what??)

"We don't want our plan to visit Greece re-scheduled or postponed JUST BECAUSE of Merapi's eruption and the tsunami in Mentawai!"

(That came from - yes, people!*rolls eyes* - The House of The Representatives.)

Sorry, I know it won't change a damn thing here, but I can't pretend I am not mad right now.

Please pray for us, people.:(

The Author/SBF

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!