Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2010-10-24 - 6:55 p.m.

*deep sigh*

Alright, I rarely talk about my work life here - but I feel the need to do that now. Especially with what's been going on lately. Carefully, of course.

That's why not everybody can read this. If you happen to be the exception(s), that means I might need your opinion. Thank you if you want to and can give it to me. If not, thanks for reading this.

Recently, I turned down an offer to be a full-time teacher. (I've been a part-timer for over 2.5 years now at the same place.) Why did I do that? First of all, it has a fixed salary (while I can get higher one sometimes if I get a lot of classes in one term.) It's not as pleasant as it sounds, because you'll get more responsibilities than just teaching. You'll have to deal with the placement tests for newcomers, inventories(CDs, books, handouts,etc.),class schedules, administrative stuff...*gulps* That is just not...me, I'm afraid.:| I am not exactly neat. If you look at my desk, it often looks as if a hurricane often stops by there for a party-crash.:P

It's not that I don't accept any new challenges. I know my own capability. I love teaching, but I don't think I can do bigger stuff but with rather smaller salary.(Believe me, I have checked.) Plus, I have seen how Marty and Gigi tackle everything every day. Especially when there were once three absent part-time teachers on one day. That's tough. I'm just not the right one for it.

No, I have made up my mind. I'm not going to even try just for the sake of sheer curiousity. Administration is just not my thing. I might screw up if I force myself into it, even for a noble excuse like helping colleagues.

Well, they seem okay with my final decision. I am starting a new term next week(I mean, tomorrow on Monday) and the same branch school at Panglima Polim also offered me to teach another morning class. I have accepted it. It's all good and usual business.

Panglima Polim. That's what's been on my mind lately.

I know that I have somehow made an impression that I don't plan on staying in one place forever. I am still (relatively :P) young, single, and - with all due respect - I still want to do a lot of other things in the world while I am still alive.

They are offering me another challenge: to move there permanently and leave Ciputat. I have been familiar with the neighbourhood, though, where my family's restaurant used to exist a few blocks away. In fact, I am also a former student of the branch - looong time ago.

I am no hypocrite.:P I do need (more) money. And yes, they do offer bigger salary with the same, part-time status. (Especially since most of the colleagues there are expatriates.) Plus, I have thankfully passed my CAE (Certified Advance English) with a 'B'.

So why the second guess?

*sighs*

I don't know. Is feeling this way normal? Maybe it's the emotional attachment I still have to deal with.

Friends I have made at work. No, they're more like my second family already.

Perhaps it's about time that I took that leap. Stop playing safe. Despite the rumours about "some colleagues" there and what some say about that offer, I think I must dare myself leave the comfort zone. Start a whole new adventure.

Besides, nothing always lasts forever, right?

The Author/SBF

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!